Skip to main content
McFarlin Logo
Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday 10:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Friday 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday Virtual Reference Only
Sunday Closed

Get Help

CDSP 7253: Techniques of Research & Evaluation: Classroom & Language

This guide is for TU's CDSP Techniques of Research & Evaluation class.

Generating Search Terms

language development

language disorders

language awareness

literacy

communicative disorders

child(ren)

elementary school

third grade

classroom

mainstreaming

discourse

discourse analysis

region(al)

culture

cultural group

social dialects

Education Databases

You may find some good information in education databases. We don't currently have an advanced Education guide, but we do have a quick guide with databases not included in your Comm. Disorders guides.

Education Quick Guide

EBSCO

Multiple EBSCOhost Databases

Checked Scholarly Journals Box

language development AND elementary school students = 743

language development AND third grade = 137

communicative disorders in children AND classroom AND discourse = 0 but Smart Text Searching yielded 1973, some of which look promising

third grade AND classroom AND discourse = 66

grade 3 AND classroom AND discourse = 72

mainstreaming AND grade 3 = 107

third grade AND classroom environment AND culture = 10

grade 3 AND classroom environment AND culture =20

For your third research question, you will probably need to search by specific areas/cultures, such as Pennsylvania/Amish.

Ammons

Ammons

When using AND below, I placed the first term in the Search box and the second/third term(s) in the Refine by box(es).

language development AND third grade = 11

The third entry may be useful (if it's not too old): Perceptual and Motor Skills, 1983, December  Vol. 57, Pp. 883-890         
ABILITY TO IMITATE LANGUAGE IN KINDERGARTEN PREDICTS LATER SCHOOL ACHIEVEMENT

 

mainstreaming AND elementary = 16

mainstreaming AND school = 34

classroom AND discourse = 37

classroom AND dialect = 18

ASHA

ASHA

"language development" "elementary school" culture = 103

elementary classroom discourse = 268

third-grade discourse = 106

third-grade "language development" = 202

Wiley

Wiley InterScience

REMEMBER: Just because Wiley provides a pdf link does NOT mean McFarlin has full-text access to the article. If you click on the pdf link and Wiley prompts you to pay for the article, don't do it! Instead, get the name of the journal and date of the article, go to our Journal Titles page, search for the journal, and determine if we have a subscription to that journal for the date you need (don't forget to check the Print or Microform at TU Libraries link). If we don't have it, ILL the article.

 

third grade AND language development = 201

"third grade" AND language development = 72

third-grade AND language development = 72

third-grade AND language development AND culture = 27

third-grade AND discourse = 36

elementary school AND language AND regional = 41

elementary school AND mainstreaming = 108

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect

REMEMBER: A green box to the left of the article information means we have full-text access in this database. A white box to the left of the article information means we do NOT have full-text access in this database - we may have full-text access in another database or in print at the library. Please double-check our Journal Titles page for additional methods of accessing the article before requesting an ILL.
ALSO: This database uses brackets instead of quotation marks to indicate searching a phrase (how clever of them).

{elementary school} AND {language development} = 1153

{third grade} AND {language development} = 306

{elementary school} AND {regional dialect} = 5

{elementary school} AND discourse = 2238

{language development} AND culture = 2788

JSTOR

JSTOR

I usually check the Articles box under Limit To: Type:  I hate having to sort through book reviews and editorials, but you may also want to check the Pamphlet box depending on the type of research you desire.

 

elementary AND "language development" = 2948

"elementary school" AND "language development" = 1910

"third grade" AND "language development" = 695

"elementary school" AND discourse = 5239

"elementary school" AND discourse AND culture = 3380

"elementary school" AND "regional dialect" = 43

"public school" AND "regional dialect" = 14