Skip to main content
McFarlin Logo
Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday 10:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Friday 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday Virtual Reference Only
Sunday Closed

Get Help

CDSP 7253: Techniques of Research & Evaluation: Children's Lit.

This guide is for TU's CDSP Techniques of Research & Evaluation class.

Generating Search Terms

Children's Literature

English

Spanish

theme

motif

Random Stuff

In SpringerLink

Education Databases

You may find some good information in education databases. We don't currently have an advanced Education guide, but we do have a quick guide with databases not included in your Comm. Disorders guides.

Education Quick Guide

EBSCO

Multiple EBSCOhost Databases

 

Children's Literature AND Spanish AND theme = 15

Children's Literature AND Spanish language AND theme = 3

Children's Literature AND English language AND theme = 11

Children's Literature AND English AND theme = 231

ASHA

ASHA

"children's literature" translat* = 12

child literature Spanish = 299

child literature English = 1846

child literature "English language" = 294

child* literature theme = 373

child literature theme = 371

Wiley

Wiley InterScience

REMEMBER: Just because Wiley provides a pdf link does NOT mean McFarlin has full-text access to the article. If you click on the pdf link and Wiley prompts you to pay for the article, don't do it! Instead, get the name of the journal and date of the article, go to our Journal Titles page, search for the journal, and determine if we have a subscription to that journal for the date you need (don't forget to check the Print or Microform at TU Libraries link). If we don't have it, ILL the article.

 

"children's literature" = 114

"children's literature" AND theme = 17

"children's literature" AND Spanish = 3

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect

REMEMBER: A green box to the left of the article information means we have full-text access in this database. A white box to the left of the article information means we do NOT have full-text access in this database - we may have full-text access in another database or in print at the library. Please double-check our Journal Titles page for additional methods of accessing the article before requesting an ILL.
ALSO: This database uses brackets instead of quotation marks to indicate searching a phrase (how clever of them).

 

{children's literature} AND theme* = 229

{children's literature} AND English AND theme* = 133

{children's literature} AND Spanish AND theme* = 40

{children's literature} AND translating = 36

JSTOR

JSTOR

I usually check the Articles box under Limit To: Type:  I hate having to sort through book reviews and editorials, but you may also want to check the Pamphlet box depending on the type of research you desire.

 

"children's literature" AND themes = 1314

"children's literature" AND themes AND American = 1030

"children's literature" AND themes AND English = 1008

"children's literature" AND themes AND English language = 881

"children's literature" AND themes AND "English language" = 266

"children's literature" AND themes AND "Spanish language" = 44

"children's literature" AND themes AND Spanish = 295