Skip to main content
McFarlin Logo
Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday 10:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Friday 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday Virtual Reference Only
Sunday Closed

Get Help

CDSP 7253: Techniques of Research & Evaluation: Autism & Reading Disorders

This guide is for TU's CDSP Techniques of Research & Evaluation class.

Generating Search Terms

reading disorder

reading disability

reading ability

language disorders

World-Level Recognition Disability (RLRD)

reading comprehension

reading fluency

reading automaticity

dyslexia

alexia

hyperlexia

Scotopic sensitivity syndrome (Irlen Syndrome)

developmental reading disorder

autism

autism spectrum disorder

ADHD

attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder

EBSCO

Multiple EBSCOhost Databases

autism AND reading disorders = 39

autism AND reading disabilities = 192 (This is because reading disability is a subject term in EBSCO, so more articles are indexed under it.)

autism AND dyslexia = 275

autism AND language disorders = 1228

attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder AND reading ability = 45

attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder AND reading disabilities = 241

Ammons

Ammons

When using AND below, I placed the first term in the Search box and the second/third term(s) in the Refine by box(es).

autism AND reading disabilities = 1

autism AND reading = 48

autism AND dyslexia = 13

autism AND language disorders = 6

ASHA

ASHA

autism "reading disorders" = 28

autism "reading disabilities" = 48

autism "language disorders" = 370

autism dyslexia = 87

autism "reading comprehension" = 43

"attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder" "reading disabilities" = 22

"attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder" dyslexia = 38

Wiley

Wiley InterScience

REMEMBER: Just because Wiley provides a pdf link does NOT mean McFarlin has full-text access to the article. If you click on the pdf link and Wiley prompts you to pay for the article, don't do it! Instead, get the name of the journal and date of the article, go to our Journal Titles page, search for the journal, and determine if we have a subscription to that journal for the date you need (don't forget to check the Print or Microform at TU Libraries link). If we don't have it, ILL the article.

 

autism AND reading disorders = 204

autism AND reading disabilities = 119

autism AND reading disability = 88

autism AND reading disabilit* = 130

autism AND hyperlexia = 7

attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder AND reading disorders = 246

attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder AND reading disabilit* = 174

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect

REMEMBER: A green box to the left of the article information means we have full-text access in this database. A white box to the left of the article information means we do NOT have full-text access in this database - we may have full-text access in another database or in print at the library. Please double-check our Journal Titles page for additional methods of accessing the article before requesting an ILL.
ALSO: This database uses brackets instead of quotation marks to indicate searching a phrase (how clever of them).

 

autism AND {reading disorder} = 164

autism AND {reading disability} = 424

autism AND dyslexia = 1414

Clicked on Expert Search (top right of entire grey search box) then entered: autism AND dyslexia AND {reading disability} = 290

{attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder} AND {reading disability}= 284

ADHD AND {reading disability} = 588

JSTOR

JSTOR

I usually check the Articles box under Limit To: Type:  I hate having to sort through book reviews and editorials, but you may also want to check the Pamphlet box depending on the type of research you desire.

 

autism AND "reading disorders" = 15

autism AND "reading ability" = 44

autism AND "reading comprehension" = 48

autism AND "reading fluency" = 13

autism AND dyslexia = 129

autism AND hyperlexia = 7

ADHD AND "reading disorders" = 14