Skip to main content
McFarlin Logo
Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday 10:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Friday 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday Virtual Reference Only
Sunday Closed

Get Help

CDSP 7253: Techniques of Research & Evaluation: Aphasia Treatment

This guide is for TU's CDSP Techniques of Research & Evaluation class.

Generating Search Terms

aphasia therapy

melodic intonation therapy

cognitive linguistic therapy

group therapy

programmed simulation

Promoting Aphasic's Communicative Effectiveness (PACE)

pharmacotherapy

transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS)

Perceptual Enrichment Program (PEP)

Constraint-Induced Aphasia Therapy (CIAT)

Science Direct

Aphasia Therapy: Past, Present, and Future
Great introduction/overview with lots of references.

EBSCO

Multiple EBSCOhost Databases

Checked Scholarly Journals Box

aphasia AND therapy = 2492

aphasia therapy = 486

"aphasia therapy" = 480

aphasia treatment = 149

aphasia AND melodic intonation = 18

aphasia AND group therapy = 21

PACE AND aphasia = 14

Constraint-Induced Aphasia Therapy = 11

Ammons

Ammons

When using AND below, I placed the first term in the Search box and the second/third term(s) in the Refine by box(es).

aphasia = 135

aphasia AND therapy = 32

aphasia AND melodic intonation = 2

aphasia AND PACE = 26

aphasia AND pharmacotherapy = 3

aphasia AND PEP = 11

ASHA

ASHA

aphasia therapy = 867

"aphasia therapy" = 114

aphasia "melodic intonation" = 23

aphasia "transcranial magnetic stimulation" = 8

"Constraint-Induced Aphasia Therapy" = 3

Wiley

Wiley InterScience

REMEMBER: Just because Wiley provides a pdf link does NOT mean McFarlin has full-text access to the article. If you click on the pdf link and Wiley prompts you to pay for the article, don't do it! Instead, get the name of the journal and date of the article, go to our Journal Titles page, search for the journal, and determine if we have a subscription to that journal for the date you need (don't forget to check the Print or Microform at TU Libraries link). If we don't have it, ILL the article.

 

aphasia AND therapy = 188

"aphasia therapy" = 9

aphasia AND melodic intonation therapy = 4

constraint-induced aphasia therapy = 4 (using capital letters gets zero results ... idk why)

transcranial magnetic stimulation AND aphasia = 23

programmed simulation AND aphasia = 16

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect

REMEMBER: A green box to the left of the article information means we have full-text access in this database. A white box to the left of the article information means we do NOT have full-text access in this database - we may have full-text access in another database or in print at the library. Please double-check our Journal Titles page for additional methods of accessing the article before requesting an ILL.
ALSO: This database uses brackets instead of quotation marks to indicate searching a phrase (how clever of them).

aphasia AND therapy = 8732

{aphasia therapy} = 289

aphasia AND {melodic intonation therapy} = 124

aphasia AND {group therapy} = 157

aphasia AND pharmacotherapy = 526

aphasia AND {transcranial magnetic stimulation} = 707

aphasia AND {Constraint-Induced Aphasia Therapy} = 7

JSTOR

JSTOR

I usually check the Articles box under Limit To: Type:  I hate having to sort through book reviews and editorials, but you may also want to check the Pamphlet box depending on the type of research you desire.

 

aphasia AND therapy = 611

"aphasia therapy" = 8

aphasia AND "melodic intonation therapy" = 5

aphasia AND "group therapy" = 13

aphasia AND pharmacotherapy = 7

aphasia AND "transcranial magnetic stimulation" = 10