Skip to main content
McFarlin Logo
Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday 10:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Friday 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday Virtual Reference Only
Sunday Closed

Get Help

CDSP 7253: Techniques of Research & Evaluation: Down's Syndrome & Literacy

This guide is for TU's CDSP Techniques of Research & Evaluation class.

Generating Search Terms

down syndrome (searching this instead of down's syndrome generally produces more results)

language development

reading ability

reading skills

reading comprehension

literacy

fragile x

fragile x syndrome

EBSCO

Multiple EBSCOhost Databases

Checked Scholarly Journals Box

fragile x syndrome AND reading = 22

down syndrome AND reading = 171

down syndrome AND reading skills = 30

down syndrome AND reading disabilities = 4

down syndrome AND language development = 312

fragile x syndrome AND language development = 32

Ammons

Ammons

When using AND below, I placed the first term in the Search box and the second/third term(s) in the Refine by box(es).

down syndrome = 80

fragile x syndrome = 3

down syndrome AND reading = 17

ASHA

ASHA

"fragile x syndrome" reading = 24

"down syndrome" reading = 136

"down syndrome" "language development" = 214

"fragile x syndrome" "language development" = 43

"fragile x syndrome" literacy = 12

"down syndrome" literacy = 65

Wiley

Wiley InterScience

REMEMBER: Just because Wiley provides a pdf link does NOT mean McFarlin has full-text access to the article. If you click on the pdf link and Wiley prompts you to pay for the article, don't do it! Instead, get the name of the journal and date of the article, go to our Journal Titles page, search for the journal, and determine if we have a subscription to that journal for the date you need (don't forget to check the Print or Microform at TU Libraries link). If we don't have it, ILL the article.

 

fragile x syndrome AND reading = 86

"fragile x syndrome" AND reading = 67

fragile x syndrome AND language development = 140

fragile x syndrome AND literacy = 11

down syndrome AND reading = 337

down syndrome AND reading ability = 83

down syndrome AND reading comprehension = 73

down syndrom AND language development = 300

down syndrom AND literacy = 32

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect

REMEMBER: A green box to the left of the article information means we have full-text access in this database. A white box to the left of the article information means we do NOT have full-text access in this database - we may have full-text access in another database or in print at the library. Please double-check our Journal Titles page for additional methods of accessing the article before requesting an ILL.
ALSO: This database uses brackets instead of quotation marks to indicate searching a phrase (how clever of them).

 

down syndrome AND {reading disabilities} = 263

{down syndrome} AND {reading disabilities} = 51

{down syndrome} AND {reading ability} = 79

{fragile x syndrome} AND reading = 1142

{fragile x syndrome} AND {reading ability} = 47

{fragile x syndrome} AND {reading disability} = 82

JSTOR

JSTOR

I usually check the Articles box under Limit To: Type:  I hate having to sort through book reviews and editorials, but you may also want to check the Pamphlet box depending on the type of research you desire.

 

"down syndrome" = 1373

"down's syndrome" = 2266

"fragile x syndrome" = 260

"fragile x" = 452

"down's syndrome" AND "language development" = 64

"down's syndrome" AND reading = 427

"down's syndrome" AND "reading ability" = 14

"down's syndrome" AND communication = 522

"fragile x" AND communication = 90

"fragile x" AND "language development" = 11

"fragile x" AND reading = 111