Skip to main content
McFarlin Logo
Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday 10:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Friday 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday Virtual Reference Only
Sunday Closed

Get Help

CDSP 7253: Techniques of Research & Evaluation: Augmentative Communication

This guide is for TU's CDSP Techniques of Research & Evaluation class.

Generating Search Terms

augmentative and alternative communication (AAC)

augmentative communication systems

picture exchange communication system (PECS)

assistive technology

linguistic pictographic systems

Blissymbolics

Rebus

Piscyms

symbol boards

communcation symbol system

scanning system

EBSCO

Multiple EBSCOhost Databases

Checked Scholarly Journals Box

augmentative communication AND display* = 76  (I did not put quotes around augmentative communication because it often is included in the phrase augmentative and alternative communication, which would not have shown in the results had I used the quotes.)

augmentative communication AND dynamic display = 10

 

augmentative communication AND display type = 0 but Smart Text Searching yielded 21 results, including the following article (we don't have this article, so you would have to interlibrary loan it):

Reichle, Joe, et al. "Comparison of correct responses and response latency for fixed and dynamic displays: Performance of a learner with severe developmental disabilities." AAC: Augmentative and Alternative Communication 16, no. 3 (September 2000): 154-163. PsycINFO, EBSCOhost (accessed June 1, 2010).

 

augmentative communication AND "picture exchange communication system" = 20

augmentative communication AND autism = 243

 

augmentative communication AND autism AND dynamic display* = 1 (you would need to interlibrary loan this, too):

Porter, G, and JM Cafiero. "Pragmatic Organization Dynamic Display (PODD) communication books: a promising practice for individuals with autism spectrum disorders." Perspectives on Augmentative & Alternative Communication 18, no. 4 (December 2009): 121-129. CINAHL Plus with Full Text, EBSCOhost (accessed June 1, 2010).

 

COMMUNICATION devices for people with disabilities AND display* = 13

Ammons

Ammons

When using AND below, I placed the first term in the Search box and the second/third term(s) in the Refine by box(es).

augmentative communication = 4

augmentative = 13

assistive technology = 13

ASHA

ASHA

augmentative communication = 306

augmentative communication dynamic display = 44

augmentative communication static display = 20

augmentative communication symbol boards = 96

Wiley

Wiley InterScience

REMEMBER: Just because Wiley provides a pdf link does NOT mean McFarlin has full-text access to the article. If you click on the pdf link and Wiley prompts you to pay for the article, don't do it! Instead, get the name of the journal and date of the article, go to our Journal Titles page, search for the journal, and determine if we have a subscription to that journal for the date you need (don't forget to check the Print or Microform at TU Libraries link). If we don't have it, ILL the article.

 

augmentative communication = 1355

augmentative communication AND dynamic display = 32

augmentative communication AND static display =9

augmentative communication AND static = 63

augmentative communication AND picture exchange communication system = 10

picture exchange communication system = 73

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect

REMEMBER: A green box to the left of the article information means we have full-text access in this database. A white box to the left of the article information means we do NOT have full-text access in this database - we may have full-text access in another database or in print at the library. Please double-check our Journal Titles page for additional methods of accessing the article before requesting an ILL.
ALSO: This database uses brackets instead of quotation marks to indicate searching a phrase (how clever of them).

augmentative communication AND display = 246

augmentative communication AND {dynamic display} = 8

{picture exchange communication system} = 73

Blissymbolics = 41

JSTOR

JSTOR

I usually check the Articles box under Limit To: Type:  I hate having to sort through book reviews and editorials, but you may also want to check the Pamphlet box depending on the type of research you desire.

 

"augmentative and alternative communication" = 23

augmentative communication = 240