Skip to main content
McFarlin Logo
Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday 10:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Friday 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday Virtual Reference Only
Sunday Closed

Get Help

CDSP 7253: Techniques of Research & Evaluation: ALS & ACD

This guide is for TU's CDSP Techniques of Research & Evaluation class.

Generating Search Terms

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis

Lou Gehrig's Disease

Augmentative and alternative communication

augmentative communication systems

picture exchange communication system (PECS)

assistive technology

linguistic pictographic systems

communcation symbol system

communication aids for disabled

AAC device

Books

Library Catalog of Books

You may want to try to ILL books found on Amazon or Google Books (remember, it can take 7-10 business days to get a book so start requesting early).

TU Megasearch

TU Megasearch

This includes ALL EBSCOhost databases, so if you use this database you may not need to use the Multiple EBSCOhost Databases link on the Communication Disorders guide.

 

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis AND Augmentative and alternative communication = 78

Lou Gehrig's Disease AND Augmentative and alternative communication = 11

Wiley

Wiley InterScience

REMEMBER: Just because Wiley provides a pdf link does NOT mean McFarlin has full-text access to the article. If you click on the pdf link and Wiley prompts you to pay for the article, don't do it! Instead, get the name of the journal and date of the article, go to our Journal Titles page, search for the journal, and determine if we have a subscription to that journal for the date you need (don't forget to check the Print or Microform at TU Libraries link). If we don't have it, ILL the article.

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis AND Augmentative and alternative communication = 26

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis AND augmentative = 33

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis AND "assistive devices" = 78

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis AND "assistive technology" = 40

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis AND assistive technology = 71

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect

REMEMBER: A green box to the left of the article information means we have full-text access in this database. A white box to the left of the article information means we do NOT have full-text access in this database - we may have full-text access in another database or in print at the library. Please double-check our Journal Titles page for additional methods of accessing the article before requesting an ILL.
ALSO: This database uses brackets instead of quotation marks to indicate searching a phrase (how clever of them).

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis AND AAC = 201

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis AND assistive technology = 148

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis AND augmentative communication systems = 77

PubMed

PubMed

amyotrophic lateral sclerosis AND augmentative and alternative communication = 3

amyotrophic lateral sclerosis AND assistive technology = 87

Proquest

ProQuest (including dissertations)

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis AND AAC = 204

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis AND "assistive technology" = 74

SpringerLink

SpringerLink

"Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis" AND AAC = 78

"Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis" AND "assistive technology" = 58

Augmentative Communication Device AND "Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis" = 33