Skip to main content
McFarlin Logo
Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday 10:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Friday 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday Virtual Reference Only
Sunday Closed

Get Help

CDSP 7253: Techniques of Research & Evaluation: Parental Concerns & Autism

This guide is for TU's CDSP Techniques of Research & Evaluation class.

Generating Search Terms

autism

autistic disorder

autism in children

autism in adolescence

autism in adults

parent

parents of autistic children

caregiver

family

parental concern

family functioning

family relations

family assessment

family environment

families of patients

caregiver child relationship

problem solving

quality of life

burden of care

coping

Caregiver Strain Questionnaire (CGSQ)

caregiver burden

parental attitudes

parents' report

problem behavior

Books

Library Catalog of Books

I simply searched "autism" (sans quotation marks). Don't forget there are several e-books here.

TU Megasearch

TU Megasearch

This includes ALL EBSCOhost databases, so if you use this database you may not need to use the Multiple EBSCOhost Databases link on the Communication Disorders guide.

 

Don't forget about the Age option on the left menu of the search results page!

autism AND family assessment = 43

autism AND caregiver = 2514

autism AND concerns NOT early = 237 (I'm trying to find a way to separate parental concerns right after initial diagnosis and much later)

autism and adolescence AND problems = 680

autism and adults AND problems = 2425

autism AND adulthood AND caregiver = 34

 

This might be good:

Baker, J. K., Smith, L. E., Greenberg, J. S., Seltzer, M., & Taylor, J. (2011). Change in Maternal Criticism and Behavior Problems in Adolescents and Adults With Autism Across a 7-Year Period. Journal Of Abnormal Psychology, 120(2), 465-475.

Wiley

Wiley InterScience

REMEMBER: Just because Wiley provides a pdf link does NOT mean McFarlin has full-text access to the article. If you click on the pdf link and Wiley prompts you to pay for the article, don't do it! Instead, get the name of the journal and date of the article, go to our Journal Titles page, search for the journal, and determine if we have a subscription to that journal for the date you need (don't forget to check the Print or Microform at TU Libraries link). If we don't have it, ILL the article.

autism AND caregivers = 2985

autism AND parental concerns = 4424

autism AND parent AND child rearing = 1610

 

This may be good:

Seltzer, M. M., Shattuck, P., Abbeduto, L. and Greenberg, J. S. (2004), Trajectory of development in adolescents and adults with autism. Ment. Retard. Dev. Disabil. Res. Rev., 10: 234–247.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect

REMEMBER: A green box to the left of the article information means we have full-text access in this database. A white box to the left of the article information means we do NOT have full-text access in this database - we may have full-text access in another database or in print at the library. Please double-check our Journal Titles page for additional methods of accessing the article before requesting an ILL.
ALSO: This database uses brackets instead of quotation marks to indicate searching a phrase (how clever of them).

autism AND parental concern = 2748

autism AND caregiver = 3372

autism AND sleep = 5390

autism AND problem behavior = 13582

autism AND adulthood AND caregiver = 952

Proquest

ProQuest (including dissertations)

autism AND (parental concern) = 5753

early concerns of parents of children with autism = 8973 (this was suggested as I was typing in the search box so I decided to give it a try)

concerns of caregivers of adults with autism = 3743

This looks promising:

Coping with autism during childhood and adulthood: Mothers' journeys towards adaptation. Lutz, Heidi Renee. Widener University School of Nursing, 2008.

May have good ref. list if nothing else:

Farley, M. A. (2009). Outcome for adults with high-functioning autism. The University of Utah). ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, http://search.proquest.com/docview/305009409?accountid=14676

SpringerLink

SpringerLink

autism AND parent concern = 3006

May be helpful:

Parental Experience with Treatments for Autism. Journal of Developmental and Physical Disabilities. Volume 19, Number 2 (2007), 91-101