It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History: A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources: Newspapers
A guide to online and print sources available through McFarlin Library
Newspapers have been called "the first rough draft of history". McFarlin Library provides access to a number of important databases of historical newspapers. These are listed below this box.
In addition, the library has a number of newspapers available on microfilm. These include:
Tulsa World (Nov. 1, 1906 - Dec. 31, 2014)
The Tulsa Tribune (Jan. 1, 1920-Sept. 30, 1992)
The Daily Oklahoman (1968-1997)
The New York Times (1851-2009)
The Washington Post (1985-2009)
The Wall Street Journal (1956-2010)
These microfilmed newspapers are available on the Lower Level North of McFarlin Library. Three reader/printers are available. Two of these will print a paper copy of articles. The third will make a copy to save as a PDF. Ask for assistance at the Plaza Level Check-Out Desk.
Below are some some online resources for accessing historic American newspapers.
"With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration." -- Gale
"Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876 offers 350,000 fully searchable issues from over 710 historical American newspapers. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Clarence S. Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820” and other authoritative bibliographies. Providing unprecedented access to the nation’s early periods, Early American Newspapers, Series 1 enables researchers to explore essential newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia. " -- NewsBank
"From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities." -- website
"The Chicago Defender (1909-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue." -- ProQuest
"Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH award program will fund the contribution of content from, eventually, all U.S. states and territories." -- Library of Congress
"This table provides a list of historical U.S. newspapers that are available online at no cost. Newspapers available for free through Google News Historical Archives and Newspaperarchives.com are listed individually. Newspapers available through Chronicling America and state digitization projects are usually listed as a group." -- website
Local and Regional Newspapers
Newspapers are an excellent resource when you're trying to track down information on local history. This list is by no means exhaustive.
"The Gateway is an online repository of Oklahoma history, brought to you by the Oklahoma Historical Society. You may browse through hundreds of thousands of newspaper pages dating from the 1840s to the 1920s. The Gateway will be the largest repository of Oklahoma newspapers online. Although the Gateway currently offers only newspapers, it will expand to contain materials of all types. Please return often to see the newest additions to the Gateway." -- OHS
"Since 2005, the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library at the University of Illinois has been developing unique digital newspaper content. The works collected here include digital facsimilies of newspapers and trade journals in a variety of fields. Users may search, browse, tag, and correct OCR text to improve searchability and access." -- University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
"The Oklahoma Digital Newspaper Program is operated by the Oklahoma Historical Society which has a goal of digitizing and making freely available as many Oklahoma related newspaper titles as possible." -- Oklahoma Historical Society
"The Portal is a gateway to Texas history materials. You may discover anything from an ancestor's picture to a rare historical map. From prehistory to the present day, you can explore unique collections from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. The Portal continues to grow as additional partners contribute digital versions of their collections. We hope you'll return often to discover our latest additions." -- UNT
Below are some resources for accessing historic newspapers published outside the United States.
"Papers Past contains digitised pages from New Zealand newspapers and periodicals published between 1839 and 1945. It covers over 70 titles from throughout New Zealand. The newspapers in Papers Past are a good source of information about the social and political events of the times. Researchers of family history and whakapapa (genealogy) will find the shipping news, births, deaths and marriages of interest. Advertising also features strongly. A range of regional newspapers are available on the site, making it a valuable source of information on life outside the main centres." -- National Library of New Zealand
"Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching." -- Gale
"The long-term objective of the Australian Newspaper Digitisation Program (ANDP) is to make freely available online through Trove, as many Australian newspapers published as possible. The newspapers are digitised in a standard format which supports long-term access and full-text searching of articles.
Trove provides access to over 18.5 million pages from over 1000 Australian newspapers. Newly digitised articles are added daily. Digitised newspapers and more on Trove includes newspapers from each state and territory and from the earliest published newspaper in 1803, to the mid-20th century, including some community language newspapers. " -- National Library of Australia