LibGuides: History: A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources: Miscellaneous Collections

Topic-Based Collections

African American Experience (via TCCL) This link opens in a new window
Not licensed for classroom usage, only licensed for personal usage
"A full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora. It provides rock-solid information from authorities in the field and through a wealth of primary sources." -- TCCL
This resource is provided by the Tulsa City-County Library. In order to access it you must have a valid public library card. Your TU login will not work. If you do not have a library card you may apply online for one by clicking here.
American Indian Experience (via TCCL) This link opens in a new window
Not licensed for classroom usage, only licensed for personal usage
"A full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States and features more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images." -- TCCL
This resource is provided by the Tulsa City-County Library. In order to access it you must have a valid public library card. Your TU login will not work. If you do not have a library card you may apply online for one by clicking here.
Black Freedom Struggle This link opens in a new window
In this website [developed by ProQuest], we present primary source documents from several of the time periods in American History when the river of the Black Freedom Struggle ran more powerfully, while not losing sight of the fierce, often violent opposition that Black people have faced on the road to freedom.
This website contains approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom:
- Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860)
- The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877)
- Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932)
- The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945)
- The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975)
- The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)
The documents presented here represent a selection of primary sources available in several ProQuest databases. -- ProQuest
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
"From the early days of slavery to modern times, people of African descent have had a profound impact on American history. This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. Where does the content come from? The content in this database is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. What time period does it cover? From the early 18th century to the early 21st – from pre-Revolution America to the modern era." -- NewsBank
This resource is provided by the Tulsa City-County Library. In order to access it you must have a valid public library card. Your TU login will not work. If you do not have a library card you may apply online for one by clicking here.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
"The wide range of material included in Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America presents a unique insight into interactions between Indigenous Peoples in North America and European colonists from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on histories of Indigenous Peoples in North America in the world." -- Website
Latino American Experience (via TCCL) This link opens in a new window
Not licensed for classroom usage, only licensed for personal usage
"A full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Its content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos." -- TCCL
This resource is provided by the Tulsa City-County Library. In order to access it you must have a valid public library card. Your TU login will not work. If you do not have a library card you may apply online for one by clicking here.

Location-Based Collections

Daily Life through History (via TCCL) This link opens in a new window
Not licensed for classroom usage, only licensed for personal usage
"History comes to life in this informative but fun resource that provides detailed information about numerous aspects of daily life throughout history from arts to urban legend, from popular dances to ritual music. Browsable by subject, time frame or geographic region and searchable by keywords, this resource is a collection of primary documents, reference works, monographs, images, maps, illustrations, and time lines depicting essential activities of daily living." -- TCCL
This resource is provided by the Tulsa City-County Library. In order to access it you must have a valid public library card. Your TU login will not work. If you do not have a library card you may apply online for one by clicking here.

Documenting the American South
"Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs. The University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill sponsors Documenting the American South, and the texts and materials come primarily from its southern holdings." -- UNC Library

Gateway to Oklahoma History This link opens in a new window
"The Gateway is an online repository of Oklahoma history, brought to you by the Oklahoma Historical Society. You may browse through hundreds of thousands of newspaper pages dating from the 1840s to the 1920s. The Gateway will be the largest repository of Oklahoma newspapers online. Although the Gateway currently offers only newspapers, it will expand to contain materials of all types. Please return often to see the newest additions to the Gateway." -- Oklahoma Historical Society

New York Public Library Digital Collections
Explore the almost 900,000 items digitized from the collections of the New York Public Library. This includes prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Oklahoma Digital Prairie Collections
"Digital Prairie provides open access to Oklahoma’s documents, images, publications and historical archives. It brings together Oklahoma’s own collection of unique digital content spanning more than 100 years of history from the 46th State. The resource areas found in the Digital Collection include documents, photographs, newspapers, reports, pamphlets, posters, maps, audio/visual and more." -- Oklahoma Department of Libraries
Oklahoma State University Library Digital Collections
"Digital collections at the Edmon Low Library are a collaborative project-based effort between Archives, Government Documents, Oral History, Maps & Spatial Data Services, and Digital Library Services. Collections include photography, maps, audio, and video files related to Oklahoma State University along with a diverse range of topics that are intertwined with the rich history of Oklahoma." -- OSU Library

Salem History (via TCCL) This link opens in a new window
Not licensed for classroom usage, only licensed for personal usage
"Provides online access to biography and annotated primary source documents, including the four-volume set Milestone Documents in American History: Exploring the Primary Sources That Shaped America." -- TCCL
This resource is provided by the Tulsa City-County Library. In order to access it you must have a valid public library card. Your TU login will not work. If you do not have a library card you may apply online for one by clicking here.

University of Oklahoma Libraries Digital Collections
"The purpose of the University of Oklahoma Libraries digital collections is to provide free online public access to high-resolution digital images of OU Libraries Special Collections materials in order to enhance scholarship, teaching, and community engagement. We further aim to promote use of the digital objects, their metadata, and the original objects. Works currently available range from rare early printed books and manuscripts to large atlases and maps. Our emphasis is on complete digitization of the items; some items are represented by selected images only." -- OU Libraries

History: A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources: Miscellaneous Collections

Library of Congress Digital Collections

Topic-Based Collections

Location-Based Collections