Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
McFarlin Logo
Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Friday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

Get Help

History: A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources: Biography

A guide to online and print sources available through McFarlin Library

General online sources

American National Biography Online

From the Oxford University Press, this contains biographical information on over 18,700 American men and women. Each multipage article contains a bibliography of mostly secondary sources and  links to other individuals associated with the subject. In addition, there are links to articles in the Oxford Companion to United States history (2001) which "will set the biography in a broader historical context". In some cases, the biography will include a link to a biography of the subject in the DNB.

Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)

From Oxford University Press, this product contains biographies of over 57,000 individuals who have "shaped all aspects of Britain's past". Each multipage biography contains a bibliography and links to biographies of related people. The DNB also contains a section of themes which has essays on various topics plus biographical articles about members of the theme group. For example, the article about the Fire of London has links to Samuel Pepys, Christopher Wren and other architects, Charles II, etc.

From the Tulsa City-County Library (requires a TCCL Library card)

TCCL subscribes to several basic biographical resources: Biography and Genealogy Master Index, Biography in Context.

Research for a biography

Eleanor Roosevelt

Searching for biographical information on Mrs. Roosevelt is both easy and complicated. There is a lot of information and it's in many different places.  You have to research not only Eleanor but also her husband, other family members, organizations she joined, and causes she supported. 

1. Search our catalog under author, subject, and keyword .

2. Search the various journal databases under author, subject and keyword.

3. Search WorldCat for possible ILL options under author, subject and keyword.

4. Check legislative sources for instances when Mrs. Roosevelt was a witness before Congress. There is also a volume of Congressional Memorial Addresses (88th Congress, 1st Session. H.Doc. 152)

5. Check the National Archives and the Roosevelt Presidential Library

6. Check the declassified FBI files on Mrs. Roosevelt

7. Internet sites that meet evaluation criteria of accuracy and authority such as  Eleanor Roosevelt Papers Project