It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History: A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources: Government Documents
A guide to online and print sources available through McFarlin Library
Great Seal of the United States
Stained glass from the
McFarlin Library Student Study
Information generated by a government can be an invaluable resource. The United States government, for example, has always produced copious amounts of information dating all the way back to the founding of the Republic.
The McFarlin Library Document Collection, located on the south side of the Lower Level, provides access to print copies of both federal and Oklahoma state government publications. When you search Summon for your topic, limit your results list to "Government Document", an option found under "Content Type" on the left-hand menu.
In addition, there are many online sources for government publications, produced by both public and private sources. Below are a few of these.
"Archives.OK.Gov is a collection of digitized publications and documents from the State Archives at the Oklahoma Department of Libraries. This collection includes a selection of permanent records of state government, such as reports and newsletters of agency activities, that provide a glimpse into the work of state government from its beginnings. The Archives.OK.Gov collection complements Documents.OK.Gov by providing pre-1978 access to Oklahoma government materials." -- ODL
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. These publications make up the National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
More than 500,000 records generated since July 1976 are contained in the CGP and it is updated daily. The catalog will grow to include records for publications dating back to the late 1800s, making the CGP the central point for locating new and historical Government publications.
The CGP was originally the online counterpart of the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications, which had been printed since the passage of the Printing Act of 1895. The print version of the Monthly Catalog was discontinued with the December 2004 edition.
For publications issued prior to 1976, the printed Monthly Catalog should be consulted. Print editions of the Monthly Catalog and many of the publications indexed in it are available from the Government Documents Department in McFarlin Library.
"Search the collections of documents and publications for Oklahoma agencies on Documents.OK.Gov. Access thousands of state government publications and documents that were available only through official Oklahoma state agency websites beginning in November 2006. Also included are digitized versions of other selected state print publications dating back to 1978. For pre-1978 publications, please check the Archives.OK.Gov digital collection." -- ODL
"govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government." -- GPO
"ProQuest® Congressional allows you to explore Congress in action with the most comprehensive online resource available for congressional publications and legislative research. It includes the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection. It allows you to access the full text of publications dating back in some cases as far as the late eighteenth century in searchable PDF format. You can perform in-depth research in public policy, historical, and legal areas of interest and includes abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, and legislative histories. It also includes member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources." -- ProQuest
"This collection features the complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1980. It also includes the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) Congressional Globe (1833-1873), and Congressional Hearings (1927-2012), as well as other important congressional material. Using the Daily-to-Bound Locator Tool, you can quickly find a page in the Bound volume from the Daily edition." -- HeinOnline