Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources: Library Services

A guide to online and print sources available through McFarlin Library

Ask a Librarian!

Please contact us for more information on any of our services or resources. Our librarians will be more than happy to answer your questions and assist you in locating items or information, provide guidance in researching a topic, or assist you in using any of the print or electronic resources in the library.

  • Come in person to the Check-Out Desk on the Plaza Level in the West Wing.
  • Call the Research Librarians at 918‐631‐2871
  • Text Messaging: 224‐357‐6350 (22helpme50)
  • E‐mail: Please submit your question(s) by emailing mcfarlinlibrary@utulsa.edu.
  • Virtual Research Appointments are available to help you find resources, refine your search questions, or assistance with research problems. Fill out this form to request a video appointment with a librarian.

Library’s Web Site

Start your library research by visiting the McFarlin Library Website:

  • Access over 500 research databases that provide citations, abstract, or full‐text of online journals, magazines, and newspaper articles.
     
  • Use Summon to find out what books (print & electronic), videos (DVDs and CDs), journal articles and more are available from McFarlin Library.

Use the Library from Home

Off‐campus access to the library's large collection of databases, e‐journals and e-books is restricted to current TU students, faculty, and staff. You must access the databases by going through the library's website or the library's database list.

Borrowing Materials from McFarlin Library

McFarlin Library's bookstacks are fully open to students, faculty and staff.

The library also offers a retrieval service.  If you need a book or books you may fill out the online book request form.  Library staff will retrieve the book(s) you need for you to pick up at the Plaza Level Check-out Desk.

Your TU ID serves as your library borrower’s card.  You MUST have your TU ID card with you in order to check out any materials. Circulating materials include books, music CDs, educational DVDs (documentaries, classic films) and popular DVDs (recent movies, TV shows).

Check out times for undergrad students:

  • Books - 28 days with opportunity for 3 renewals.  Maximum of 100 books checked out at a time.
  • Media - 14 days. This includes DVDs, CDs and VHS. Renewals allowed.
  • Reserve materials - 2 hr. in library use only; 1, 3, 7 day checkout.

Check out times for grad students:

  • Books - 90 days with opportunity for 3 renewals.  Maximum of 200 books checked out at a time.
  • Media - 14 days. This includes DVDs, CDs and VHS. Renewals allowed.
  • Reserve materials - 2 hr. in library use only; 1, 3, 7 day checkout.

You may renew materials at the Library Service Desk, by phone (918-631-2871Call Us!) or through your "My Library" account.

Books can be recalled after 14 days. You may ask the Check Out Dept. to put a hold on a book so that it will come to you as soon as it's returned.

Print magazines/journals/newspapers and materials from Special Collections do not circulate.

All TU students have access to the Law Library (MLIC) and may check out most items available there. MLIC may have slightly different policies about length of checkout.

Borrowing from Other Libraries

Research materials not available at the TU Libraries can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. To request material, fill out the Interlibrary Loan Request form.

Photocopiers/Scanning

Self-service copiers are located on the Intermediate and Lower Levels of the McFarlin west wing. Copies are $.10/page. A change machine is available next to the copier on the Intermediate Level.

Free scanners are available on either side of the main stairwell on the Lower Level.

Building maps

McFarlin Library opened in 1930 with additions added in 1966, 1979 and 2009. It's a wonderfully challenging building to navigate.

Places to Study in the Library

Study areas in the library include:

McFarlin Library North Reading Room
  • The North and South Reading Rooms on the Plaza Level, and the Student Study on the Third Floor.  These rooms are for individual study.  No talking or visiting is allowed in these rooms at any time.
     
  • The Browsing & Lower Levels in the West Wing.  Group study is permitted in these areas.
     
  • The Gray Commons on the Third Floor, directly above the Check Out Desk.  Group study and visiting is permitted.
     
  • NOTE: There are two private group study rooms on the Lower Level.  Go to the Plaza Level Check-Out Desk to borrow a key.  Your TU ID card is required.