Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP): A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources

Academic Policy Statement

In keeping with the intellectual ideals, standards for community, and educational mission of the University, students are expected to adhere to all academic policies. Cheating on examinations, plagiarism, and other forms of academic dishonesty violate both individual honor and the life of the community and may subject students to penalties ranging from failing grades to dismissal. Academic misconduct also includes the unauthorized or inappropriate use of University computers, vandalism of data files or equipment, use of computer resources for personal reasons unrelated to the academic and research activities of the University, plagiarism, violation of proprietary agreements, theft, or tampering with the programs and data of other users.

Committee on Publication Ethics

The COPE authorship discussion document introduces issues and aims to stimulate discussion around authorship. COPE welcomes comments which add to the ongoing debate.

Read more about key points and download their guidance on their website.

Scribbr

• Powered by Turnitin, this software can catch accidental plagiarism with high accuracy by comparing your text to a large database with over 99 billion sources. 

Grammarly - Plagiarism Checker

• Catch plagiarism from ProQuest databases and billions of web pages. The free plagiarism check will tell you whether or not your text contains duplicate content.

SafeAssign

• Powered by Blackboard, this tool is built in to TU's Harvey LMS. This program compares submitted assignments against a set of academic papers to identify areas of overlap between the submitted assignment and existing works.

Why Publish Your DNP Project in a Scholarly Journal?

• Benefits your career as it provides evidence that you have completed an evidence-based program and have an example of your professional writing,
• Shares experience of a successful program so others in the field can implement it within their own workplace as well, and

Highlights translation of research into practice, growing the nursing field.

Simplified Journal Article Publication Process

1. Find peer-review journal within the scope of your DNP project
2. Explore and evaluate based on the criteria for selecting a journal
3. Write your manuscript following the Author Guidelines of your selected journal
4. Double-check the completed manuscript meets the Author Guidelines
5. Submit for peer-review
6. Receive peer-review comments
7. Revise to address reviewers' concerns
8. Resubmit for review
9. Accepted for publication

Strategies for Finding Journals for your DNP Project

There are many strategies for finding a journal which fits your project. Below are some potential strategies to get you started:

• Consult your peers or mentors on where they have published their research or quality improvement projects
  • Ask about their experiences submitting a manuscript to that journal.
  • If they have not submitted an article, ask them about the journals they read or subscribe to in the nursing discipline.
• Review the bibliography you prepared in your proposal or manuscript for potential journals
  • Review for multiple citations from the same journal. That might be a sign that your manuscript's topic is within that journal's scope and aims.
• Use a journal selector search like Edanz or J/ANE
  • Search using your prepared abstract or relevant keywords related to your manuscript.
• Review a directory of nursing journals
  • The Directory of Nursing Journals is a directory listing created by the International Academy of Nursing Editors (INANE).
• Write using the SQUIRE Statement manuscript format if you are using a Quality Improvement methodology for your project.
  • SQUIRE-friendly publications are listed on the SQUIRE Statement website
• Check disciplinary lists in various citation reports

Use the Journal Citation Report list from Web of Science or the Scimago Journal Ranking to review the potential impact of a journal

Resources for Journal Selection

Resources to Review Potential Journals Related to Your Project:

• Edanz Journal Selector

  Search by keyword or field of study from over 28,000 journals to locate a potential publication opportunity.

• JANE: Journal / Author Name Estimator

  Enter a manuscript's abstract in Jane to compare your manuscript to millions of abstracts in PubMed to find the best matching journals, authors, or articles.

• Directory of Nursing Journals

  A list of disciplinary nursing journals created by the International Academy of Nursing Editors (INANE). Recommend searching your population or specialty to narrow down potential selections.

• NAHRS Nursing Journal List

  The Medical Library Association Nursing and Allied Health Resource Section created a listing of Nursing Journals, their indexing and evidence-based content published in them. [Link will open an Excel spreadsheet]

• NLM Catalog Listing of Current Nursing Journals

  List of current nursing journals indexed in MEDLINE/PubMed.

• SQUIRE-friendly Journals List

Listing of journal using the Quality Improvement standards for preparing a scholarly article, SQUIRE.

Resources to Review Journal Quality:

• Ulrichsweb

  This database will help you see if a journal is peer-reviewed or as they call it "refereed" and the indexing in databases such as PubMed or CINAHL so other professionals can find your article.

• Scimago Journal Rankings

  A ranked list of journals where you can narrow down to the disciplinary subject.

• SCOPUS

Scopus covers more than 15,000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, medicine and social sciences from over 4,000 international publishers." Scopus includes "coverage of: Open Access journals, Conference Proceedings, Trade Publications and Book Series.

All information sourced from University of Illinois Library