Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP): A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources

• Oklahoma Center for Health Statistics
  • The Center for Health Statistics collects, analyzes, and disseminates health statistics in order to help the Oklahoma State Department of Health achieve its mission to create a "State of Health" for all Oklahomans.
• Oklahoma Department of Health Data and Stats
  • Includes annual report as well as information for community and family health.
• Oklahoma's State of the State's Health Report
  • This tool explains how various health outcomes and behaviors affect the overall health status of Oklahoma residents in a user friendly format.

• Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
  • Offers a network of patient safety databases, MEPS data, HCUP data, state snapshots, and AHRQ databases that can enhance research by filling data gaps.
• Center for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Includes tools to give you facts on popular topics such as alcohol abuse, cancer, diabetes, heart disease, and more.
• CDC Surveys and Data Collection Systems
  • Offers information from population surveys, vital records, provider surveys, and historical surveys. 
• US Census Data
  • Learn more about America's People, Places, and Economy. 
• Healthdata.gov
  • This site is dedicated to making data discoverable and making valuable government data available to the public in the hopes of better health outcomes for all. 
• CDC Wonder
  • WONDER online database utilizes a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data.

• Commonwealth Fund

  Profiles of 19 countries' health care system systems.

• International Statistical Program

  International statistics program from US Census.

• Measure DHS

  The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) program has many resources on various health indicators for many countries around the world.

• National Master - Health Statistics

  Compiled statistics from reputable resources for health statistics on conditions, care, correlations and consequences.

• OECD Health Statistics

  The Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD) carries out work on health data and indicators to improve international comparisons and economic analyses of health systems. Now includes the OECD Health Database, the most comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries.

• PAHO Data and Statistics

  The Pan American Health Organization collects statistics for the countries in the Western Hemisphere.

• WHO Global Health Observatory Statistics

  Statistics provided by the World Health Organization. There are detailed reports on the health of various countries with specific conditions and care statistics.

• World Bank

  Health Nutrition and Population Statistics dataset

Race and Ethnicity Health Statistics Resources

• National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities Reports and Data Resources

  Connect with reports, data sets, and articles, and related sources on minority health and health disparities provided by NIMHD’s federal and non-federal partners and grantee institutions.

• African American Health

  (MedlinePlus) The statistics sections has pulled together resources for information on specific diseases in regards to African Americans.

• Asian-American Health

  (MedlinePlus) The statistics sections has pulled together resources for information on specific diseases in regards to Asian Americans.

• Hispanic-American Health

  (MedlinePlus) The statistics sections has pulled together resources for information on specific diseases in regards to Hispanic-Americans.

• Native American Health

  (MedlinePlus) The statistics sections has pulled together resources for information on specific diseases in regards to Native Americans.

Children

• https://www.childstats.gov/

• America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-being

  Reports for each year back to 1997.

• PeriStats

  Developed by the March of Dimes in collaboration with NLM, NIH & NY Academy of Medicine. PeriStats provides free access to US, state, city, and county maternal & infant health data with over 60,000 graphs, maps and tables available! Create customized charts or maps based upon indicators you select.

• National Maternal and Infant Health Survey

  The National Maternal and Infant Health Survey (NMIHS) vital records are linked with data from mothers' questionnaires. The 1988 NMIHS is the successor to earlier NCHS National Natality and Mortality Followback Surveys.

• Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System

  A special CDC project through Adolescent & School Health. Much of the results reported in MMWR, and special files available at this site.

• Kids Count Data Center

  KIDS COUNT®, a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, is a national and state-by-state effort to track the well-being of children in the United States

Underserved

• State Health Departments

  A directory of local health departments from the NACCHO.

• Health Professional Shortage Areas

  From the Health Resources and Services Administration

• Medically Underserved Areas/Medically Underserved Populations MUA/MUP

  Maintained by HRSA's Burea of Primary Health Care, search by state or by state & county.

• LGBTQIA+ Data

  The following source has collected data about sexual orientation.

• Finding and Using Health Statistics
  • Exercises, training, and tools that describe different types of health statistics, how they are collected, and where they can be found.
• Clinical Significance & Statistical Significance Differences
  • Information to help you understand the difference between clinical and statistical significance.
• JASP - OpenSource statistics creation software
  • The JASP interface allows you to conduct statistical analyses in seconds, and without having to learn programming or risking a programming mistake.
• Effect Size Calculator
  • Provided by the University of Colorado Springs.