Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP): A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources

"AccessAnesthesiology from McGraw-Hill Medical offers a new approach to anesthesiology reference, research, and curricular instruction – all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online anesthesiology resource covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content -– optimized for viewing on any device. AccessAnesthesiology provides unique benefits that deliver indispensable support in resident education and certification/recertification in pain management, critical care, and perioperative medicine – through these exclusive interactive features: leading anesthesiology textbooks, multimedia, interactive self-assessment, practice guidelines, an integrated drug database, and more than 100 patient cases." -- website

The Access app is also available, optimized for use on tablets and phones:

• Download on the App Store
• Get it on Google Play

"AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere. Authoritative, trusted, and continuously updated with optimized content for any mobile device, AccessMedicine is guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes the medical field’s top academic experts. AccessMedicine provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome." -- AccessMedicine website

The Access app is also available, optimized for use on tablets and phones:

• Download on the App Store
• Get it on Google Play

"The Case Files® Collection provides premier case content with the goal of improving learning outcomes through exposure to clinical cases. The Case Files® Collection features: The complete collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files® series books; An interactive format to help students learn and retain knowledge through exposure to realistic patient cases; Personalized functionality to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases." -- AccessMedicine website

The Access app is also available, optimized for use on tablets and phones:

• Download on the App Store
• Get it on Google Play

"For more than 20 years, clinicians around the world have relied on UpToDate as their primary resource for medical knowledge at the point of care. The knowledge contained in UpToDate is evidence-based and continuously updated, but it is not merely an aggregation and report of the latest research; UpToDate presents a comprehensive synthesis of the evidence, followed by recommendations that can be acted on at the point of care. It combines an advanced publishing platform with the rigor of a sophisticated editorial process managed by a faculty of accomplished physician authors and editors, renowned leaders in their specialties." -- UpToDate website

IMPORTANT: To use UpToDate you must create a personal account by accessing the database through the above hyperlink. You can then use that account to access UpToDate from anywhere, including the mobile app. However, after 90 days you will be required to once again access UpToDate via the library website in order to validate your account for another 90 days.