Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Department of Special Collections and University Archives

2008- Today and Tomorrow

2008

  • The reference desk is moved to the Main Level hallway.
  • McFarlin Library begins its search for an offsite storage facility.
  • Francine Fisk becomes the Associate Dean of the Library.

September

  • Special Collections acquires the Bob McCormack Photographic Studio Archive and Camera Collection.
  • Special Collections acquires the Harriet Barclay papers addendum.
  • McFarlin Library gains the Hardesty Remote Storage Facility and begins to move overflow storage there.

2009

  • The Library opens its new offsite storage facility.

November

  • The Library celebrates the unveiling of the new Pauline M. Walter Academic Technology Labs, the Cort & Martha Dietler Cafe, the Greg Gray Commons, the Francis O'Hornett Grand Foyer, the Ann Be Graves Faculty Study, as well as the redecorated Student Study, and the former North and South Labs being returned to their original purpose as student reading rooms.

2010

  • Charles Brooks serves as OLA president.

January

  • The library's website is merged into the University Content Management System.

June

  • The Rupert Hart Davis library cataloging project is completed (substantial completion occurred earlier in the year and the cataloging department moved onto other projects)

July

  • The Special Collections' website is merged into the University Content Management System.
  • The Library purchases a vehicle for transport between the main building and the offsite storage facility.

2011

  • Charles Brooks receives the OLA Meritorious Service Award.

2012

2013

  • The historical Collegians are digitized and put online.

November

  • Jenn Donner is hired as Special Collections Librarian.

2014

2015

April

  • Melissa Kunz is hired as Special Collections Librarian.

July

  • HVAC upgrade in 1966 wing.

2016

Fall

2017

September

  • Special Collections and University Archives inaugurates the new ArchivesSpace Archival Catalog.

December

2018

May

  • The library's website is removed from the University Content Management System.
  • The Special Collections website is removed from the University Content Management System.

2019

January

  • Petroleum Abstracts Document Delivery service/TUCopy closes after Petroleum Abstracts is sold to the Cambridge Information Group.  It becomes officially Energy Abstracts.

December

  • Steve Nobles retires as the Head of Acquisitions.

2020

January

  • April Schweikhard joins McFarlin as the new Director of Public Services.

February

  • Ann Blakely retires as Head of Access Services.
  • Francine Fisk retires as Associate Dean of McFarlin Library. 
  • Elizabeth Szkirpan joins McFarlin as the new Director of Bibliographic Services.

March

  • Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic, the Library closes access to to all but essential personnel, but still continues to provide remote services and circulation with most of the staff working from home.

April

  • All non-"essential" personnel from the library are put on furlough.

May

  • Andy Lupardus and Madonna Snelson retire.

August

  • The staff returns to work in the library under strict COVID protocols.The University continues to work in a hybrid asymmetric environment. 

September

  • The McFarlin Fellows events begin in a distanced format.

2021

April

  • The Tulsa Race Massacre exhibit goes online.

May

  • April Schweikhard leaves McFarlin to pursue career advancements elsewhere.

July

  • McFarlin adopts the Summon discovery platform.

September

  • Jessica Conley joins McFarlin as the new Director of Public Services.

October

  • Jenn Donner leaves Special Collections to pursue career advancements elsewhere.

2022

January

  • Renee Harvey joins Special Collections as the new cataloger.

May

  • Melissa Kunz is promoted to Associate Director of Special Collections and University Archives, and is named the Interim Director of Special Collections and University Archives.
  • Adrian Alexander retires as the R.M. and Ida McFarlin Dean of the Library after 15 years of service to the University of Tulsa community.