Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Department of Special Collections and University Archives

Payment

To pay for scan requests or publication fees, use the link at the bottom of the invoice emailed to you by Special Collections staff.

If paying by check, please mail to:

Department of Special Collections and University Archives
McFarlin Library, The University of Tulsa
2933 E 6th St.
Tulsa, OK  74104

Orders will not be processed until payment is received.

Scan Request Fees

Special Collections provides scans of our materials based on structured fees listed below.

Please be aware of the following department policies when making a scan request:

  • We reserve 4-6 weeks for orders to be completed. Special Collections staff try to finish scan requests as quickly as possible, but your patience is appreciated.
  • There is a processing fee of $10.00 on all scan requests. 
  • RUSH orders incur an additional fee of $50.00. An order is RUSH when the patron wants delivery within 5 days of their itemized request. 
  • Patrons may request up to 200 pages from a single collection in a 6-month period. Additional scans may be requested 6 months after delivery of images.
  • Scan requests do not constitute permission to publish materials. That is a separate process detailed below.

Patrons will receive an invoice itemizing all costs. Scanned images will not be sent to patrons until the invoice has been paid. The University of Tulsa payment portal accepts credit cards. We can only accept personal checks from banks based in the United States. Patrons outside the United States may pay by international money order. These are payable to The University of Tulsa.

All fees for duplication of Special Collections materials are subject to change without notice. All duplication requests are subject to copyright restrictions.

 

 

TU affiliates (current students, faculty, and staff)

Non-affiliates

Photocopies

   

Published material

$ .10/copy

$ .10/copy

Manuscript/unique material*

$ .10/copy

$ .50/copy

 

     

Digital copies

   

Research Quality (150 dpi, with a TU logo watermark overlaid)

$ .10/scan

$ .50/scan

Publication Quality (300-600 dpi, no watermark)

$20.00/scan

$20.00/scan

 

Audio-visual reproductions

   

Audio reproduction (in-house)

Cost of media plus $15.00 per hour

Cost of media plus $15.00 per hour

Audio, film, or video reproduction (commercial)

Lab fees plus 50%

Lab fees plus 50%

 

*The Department of Special Collections retains the right to require the return of manuscript copies, even if they have been paid for.

Please indicate whether you want research-quality or publication-quality images when you make your request.

Complex, photo-manipulated, and/or high-resolution scans may be subject to additional charges.

High-resolution scans may be supplied on CD-Rs, for which there is an additional charge of $5.00 for each disc.

Postage Fees

Postage is based on FedEx or USPS rates. This will be included on the invoice for duplication and must be paid in advance.

Publication Licensing Fees

Special Collections provides publication licensing of materials based on structured fees listed below.

Please be aware of the following department policies when seeking to publish materials owned by Special Collections:

  • Publication fees are in addition to scan request fees or fees from the copyright holder. 
  • Patrons are responsible for locating and contacting copyright holders, obtaining permission to publish, and providing Special Collections staff with written and signed documentation showing the copyright holder's approval. We can direct patrons toward publicly-available resources for locating rights holders, such as the Harry Ransom Center WATCH File, but Special Collections staff are prohibited from providing patrons with rights holders' private contact information.
  • Publication licensing is non-exclusive
  • Special Collections will provide patrons with an agreement denoting the terms and conditions of publication or licensing permission. Patrons must sign the document first, then the Director of Special Collections or an authorized signatory will complete and return the fully-signed agreement to the patron. The University of Tulsa Department of Special Collections does not sign agreements provided by patrons or outside entities.
  • Publication fees are generally waived for theses, dissertations, and student projects.

 

Manuscripts (Complete)

 

Single Use, Single Language, Single Country

Single Use, Single Language, World Wide

Single Use, All Languages, World Wide

All Editions, All Uses

Up to 2,500 copies

$100.00

$150.00

$200.00

$500.00

2,501 to 10,000 copies

$200.00

$300.00

$400.00

$1000.00

10,001 or more copies

$400.00

$600.00

$800.00

$2000.00

Broadcast/Video/Home Use/Still Images

 

Single Use, Single Language,Single Country

Single Use, Single Language, World Wide

Single Use, All Languages, World Wide

All Editions, All Uses (excluding electronic)

Images for Books(Text)

       

Up to 2,500 copies

$20.00

$30.00

$40.00

$50.00

2,501 to 10,000 copies

$40.00

$60.00

$80.00

$100.00

10,001 or more copies

$80.00

$120.00

$160.00

$200.00

Images for Books (Jacket/Cover)

       

Up to 2,500 copies

$100.00

$150.00

$200.00

$250.00

2,501 to 10,000 copies

$200.00

$300.00

$400.00

$500.00

10,001 or more copies

$300.00

$450.00

$600.00

$750.00

Images for Periodicals (Text)

       

Circulation of up to 1,000

$0.00

$0.00

$0.00

$0.00

Circulation of 1,001-10,000

$20.00

$30.00

$40.00

$50.00

Circulation of 10,001-99,000

$40.00

$60.00

$80.00

$100.00

Circulation of 100,000 or more

$80.00

$120.00

$160.00

$200.00

Images for Periodicals (Jacket/Cover)

       

Circulation of up to 1,000

$0.00

$0.00

$0.00

$0.00

Circulation of 1,001-10,000

$100.00

$150.00

$200.00

$250.00

Circulation of 10,001-99,000

$200.00

$300.00

$400.00

$500.00

Circulation of 100,000 or more

$300.00

$450.00

$600.00

$750.00

Images for other Print Media (Posters, Cards, Calendars, promotional material, etc.)

       

Up to 2,500 copies

$200.00

     

2,501 to 10,000 copies

$400.00

     

10,001 or more copies

$600.00

     

Images for Electronic Media

 

Text/Small Images

Full Screen Images

Jacket/Cover

 

Up to 2,500 copies

$20.00

$50.00

$100.00

 

2,501 to 10,000 copies

$40.00

$100.00

$200.00

 

10,001 or more copies

$80.00

$150.00

$300.00

 

Internet/Online Use (Commercial)

$200.00

     

Internet/Online Use (Non-Profit)

$20.00

     

Internet/Online Use (TU)

$0.00

     

 

Broadcast/Video/Home Use

Feature Films

Single Language, Single Country

Single Language, World Wide

All Languages, World Wide

U.S. Distribution

Non-U.S. Distribution

$50.00

$100.00

$200.00

$500.00

$1000.00

 

Feature Films

All Languages, World Wide

All Languages, World Wide

$60.00/second, $350 minimum.

$120.00/second, $700 minimum.

 

Audio

 

Broadcast/Home Use

 

All Languages, World Wide

 

$30.00/second, $200 minimum.