Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Department of Special Collections and University Archives

Department of Special Collections and University Archives

Archival Catalog issues

Digital objects may vanish from the archival catalog during the next few weeks.  We are upgrading from Http: to Https:, which should lear up the recent browser issues.  Thank you for your patience.

Blog issues

The Blog is currently unavailable as we are upgrading to a new web address.

Information related to COVID-19

Due to COVID-19, and the rise of the Delta and Lamda variants, in accordance with The University’s ‘Social Distancing’ policy and social distancing recommendations from the Center for Disease Control (CDC), The Department of Special Collections and University Archives will be open to researchers.  Although appointments are no longer required, drop-ins are not encouraged and anyone who wants to use the collections or view our exhibits needs to be masked and practice social distancing.

We can be reached at (918) 631-2496 (Voicemail only), and by email at speccoll@utulsa.edu.

The latest University guidance for students, faculty and staff is available on the University’s Coronavirus Updates webpage and McFarlin Library’s COVID-19 Library Updates & Resources webpage.

Jack and Tybie Satin Rare Book RoomThe Department of Special Collections and University Archives at McFarlin Library hosts world-class collections of rare books, manuscripts, photographs, artwork, and other objects, including one of the five largest collections in the world on the celebrated Irish writer James Joyce and the life archive of Nobel Laureate Sir V.S. Naipaul. Other significant collections include a wide variety of British, Irish, and American modernist literature, a large and varied collection of materials on World War I, Native American history and culture, and Tulsa Race Relations. The Department of Special Collections and University Archives also offers an important array of research materials for scholars worldwide as well as TU faculty and students.

Featured Collection

Image of Aimee Whitman during her time in Supply
Aimee Whitman Marrs papers, 1911-1973, bulk 1943-1969

Commander Aimee Whitman Marrs. She was a TU Alum and teacher and Clinical Psychologist in the U. S. Navy.  She enlisted in the Naval Reserve/W.A.V.E.S. in March 1943, and served in various naval supply depots, rising in rank from Ensign to Lieutenant (J.g.) to full Lieutenant by the end of the war. She returned to Reserve Status and then to college where she earned a Masters in Psychology from The University of Tulsa. At the time of her graduation in May 1948, she married Manton Lee Marrs, a well-known Tulsa Journalist and eventually city editor of the Tulsa World. During this period she was a psychology teacher at the University of Tulsa Downtown Division.

During the Korean War she returned to the Navy, reporting to the naval hospital in San Diego where she served as clinical psychologist in the neuro-psychiatric division. In the early 1950s she was the only woman psychologist in the Navy.

From McFarlin Tower Blog

Loading ...

Other Social Media