It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Department of Special Collections and University Archives
No. Special Collections materials must be used in our reading room during regular office hours (8 am-5 pm, M-F), unless approved otherwise by the Director of Special Collections.
We acquire materials both through purchase and donation. Our purchases are made with funds from an endowment or financial gifts. We do not purchase acquisitions with funds from the regular Library budget.
You will need to download a copy of the Reader’s Registration Form, and either the Application for the Duplication of Unpublished Works (manuscripts and documents) or the Duplication Request for Published Works (images). Complete and sign each form and return to us by mail or by fax, or as emailed .pdf files. We must have your signature before duplicating materials that are still in copyright. With few exceptions, we cannot make photocopies or duplicate photographs without the permission of the copyright holder(s). See the section below on Copyright. We do not make copies of photocopies, unless we are certain that the photocopy is the only extant copy of a destroyed original.
Requests are processed in the order in which they are received. You can anticipate up to 4-6 weeks for delivery of photocopies of manuscript materials, particularly for larger orders. Delivery times for digital images vary; however, images (usually .jpgs or .pdfs) can be emailed directly to you when completed and your payment has been received. Please be aware we will impose an additional fee for rushed services.
Obtaining permission to publish an item or items in our collections is a somewhat convoluted process, and there are a number of hurdles that must be jumped for anyone wanting to publish other people's material. Two of the largest hurdles are copyright and ownership.
Although there are many interpretations of the meaning of copyright, for Special Collections purposes, it means that the creator of an item—a manuscript or photograph, for example—has the legal right to determine how the item is used and presented for a specific period of time. Often the details of the original publication or creation determines the length of that period of time. Anything published prior to 1923 is in the public domain. Things published between 1923 and 1978, assuming all the copyright notices were procured and updated, are under copyright for 95 years. If the copyright for items published between 1923 and 1964 were not updated correctly, things may or may not be in the public domain. Items created after 1978 are going to remain under copyright until well into this century. There is no simple explanation or rule-of-thumb to determine when items that have been previously published leave the protection of copyright and enter the public domain, and copyright laws change frequently. Under current copyright law, unpublished manuscripts, correspondence, and photographs are under the copyright of the creator from the moment of their creation until 70 years following his/her death. If the creator is unknown, they are under copyright for 120 years from the date of creation. As an example, in the case of a collection of correspondence, it may be necessary for you to acquire the permission from each creator (i.e. correspondent) whose letters you might wish to have photocopied and/or published. If the creator is deceased, you may be required to contact his/her executor(s) or heir(s) to acquire this permission. As a courtesy, we may be able to assist you in identifying and locating the current executor; however, it is your responsibility to secure these permissions. Bear in mind that, in some cases, a fee is charged for copyright permission. In specific cases, as a library, we may be able to provide you with photocopies of unpublished materials for scholarly research purposes only, given what is understood under copyright guidelines as fair use. However, fair use is not permission to publish.
All collection materials housed in this department by are owned by The University of Tulsa, McFarlin Library. Although we provide photocopies, digital images, and audio recordings as a service to the university community, scholars, and private researchers, we are in no way obliged to do so. We also reserve the right to disallow the copying and/or publication of our collection materials, regardless of who owns the copyright. However, we generally try to accommodate researchers as much as possible. It is important to understand that the fees for duplication of our unpublished materials are actually usage fees. Copies are made bearing The University's official seal. They remain the property of The University and, as such, we reserve the right to request that they be returned to us. In the case of digitally reproduced images, we reserve the right to request the destruction of all copies and/or prints after research has been completed. For more information, please consult our Publication of Materials from the Policies and Procedures page. Please refer to our Fee Schedule for a detailed list of charges for services we provide.
We regret that, at present, The University does not have on-campus housing for visiting scholars. However, a number of national chain hotels and motels are within driving distance, some of which may have a discount for TU visitors. Visit the Tulsa Convention & Visitors Bureau or the Tulsa Travel Guide or other online sources for accommodations and restaurants in the Tulsa area.
Unfortunately we do not have resources to that at this time.
Yes, we do. There are two visitor parking locations on campus: The ACAC lot and Westby lot (Campus Map).
While all visitors are welcome to use our collections, we do require a photo ID before we can retrieve items for use. Please refer to our Policies and Regulations for important details.
Yes. You may bring your own laptop. The University does offer guest wireless access. DYou can also get a visitor password to access our computers to search the catalog/AS/etc. and get Internet access. If you have other computer access needs, please contact us well in advance to see if we can accommodate you.
Some portions of specific collections restricted from use by anyone except those who have acquired specific permission in writing from the creator of that collections. A good example would be the V.S. Naipaul archive in which some personal correspondence and diaries are restricted from use. These types of restrictions are noted on the finding aids found in our Archival Catalog. Unprocessed collections are also restricted from use in most cases. Primarily this is necessary in order to preserve the original order imposed by its creator until the materials can be inventoried.
We are open 8-5 Monday through Friday.
We are open to the public.
No flash photography is allowed, and no interchangeable lens cameras. There will be a mylar overlay sheet with the University's logo supplied. Research photographs are acceptable, publication quality images are not without the permission of the Head of Special Collections.