It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chemistry and Biochemistry: Technical Reports, etc.
This Library Research Guide will provide information about and access to some of the most significant research materials available in McFarlin Library related to the disciplines of Chemistry and Biochemistry.
The National Technical Information Library is a federally funded bibliographic science and technology research information database. To search the database and to download full text pdf's you will need to create a FREE account, which limits you to 10 downloads per search session. Currently there are more than 850,000 documents digitized for free public access.
The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information in a number of public access databases. Topics you may research using these resources include nucleotide and protein sequences, protein and chemical structures, genomes, taxonomy, etc.
"PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more." -- NLM
"Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results." -- Science.gov website
"OSTI.GOV makes discoverable over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia. OSTI.GOV contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites. OSTI.GOV provides access to this DOE STI by offering numerous easy-to-use search capabilities and customization options; and for the DOE community, additional citation information is available to help researchers evaluate article impact and find related research." -- website
"The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports." -- TRAIL website
" The mission of TRAIL is to ensure preservation, discoverability, and persistent open access to government technical publications regardless of form or format. TRAIL provides unrestricted access to these digitized technical reports through the TRAIL Search Interface (link is external). Millions of pages of elusive technical reports are now discoverable, thanks to the collaborative effort of TRAIL members." -- TRAIL website
PapersFirst is an index to scholarly papers presented at conferences, symposia, workshops, and other professional meetings from October 1993 to the present. It covers only those papers received by the British Library Document Supply Center. (NOTE: Search ProceedingsFirst to locate information on the meetings at which these papers were presented.)
ProceedingsFirst is an index to the publications of professional meetings, such as conferences, workshops, and symposia, held since October of 1993. It covers only publications received by the British Library Document Supply Center. (NOTE: Search PapersFirst to locate information on the individual papers presented at these meetings.)
"SciFinder® is a research discovery application that provides unlimited access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences." -- ACS
You must have an account to use SciFinder. The account is free. Register here for your SciFinder account.
IMPORTANT: A new interface, called SciFindern, with enhanced search capabilities and additional tools for information retrieval (including PatentPak) is now available. Your existing SciFinder login works with SciFindern. You do not have to create a new account.
SciFindern is the "next generation" version of SciFinder. Like the original SciFinder it will identify articles, conference proceedings, patents and more in the fields of chemistry, biochemistry and medicine in the Chemical Astracts, MEDLINE and ChemZent databases. Substance searching is particularly powerful, allowing you to retrieve information by name, structure, reaction, molecular formation and more. SciFindern includes PatentPak (full-text patent documents in PDF), truncation searching, MethodsNow, and more. It is also designed to function better on mobile devices.
If you already have an account with the original SciFinder you may use that to sign in to SciFindern. You do not need to create a new account.
If you do not already have a SciFinder account, you will need to create one here. The account is free.
"Google Patent Search covers the entire collection of issued patents and millions of patent application made available by the USPTO—from patents issued in the 1790s through those most recently issued in the past few months. We don't currently include international patents, but we look forward to expanding our coverage in the future." -- Google
"This database lets you access 91 years of [Canadian] patent descriptions and images. You can search, retrieve and study more than 2,080,000 patent documents. The text of the abstracts and claims is not available for patents that were granted prior to August 15, 1978. These patents can only be searched by their patent number, titles, owner or inventor names, or classification." -- from website
"Espacenet offers free access to more than 90 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today. It has a user-friendly interface available in almost all European languages. It enables users with little or no experience in patent searching to obtain an overview of the state of the art, to follow new developments or to find out who invented what." - European Patent Office
"With nearly 157,000 members, the American Chemical Society (ACS) is the world’s largest scientific society and one of the world’s leading sources of authoritative scientific information. A nonprofit organization, chartered by Congress, ACS is at the forefront of the evolving worldwide chemistry enterprise and the premier professional home for chemists, chemical engineers and related professions around the globe." -- website
"With over 54,000 members and an international publishing and knowledge business [the Royal Society of Chemistry is] the UK’s professional body for chemical scientists, supporting and representing [its] members and bringing together chemical scientists from all over the world." -- website