It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chemistry and Biochemistry: Articles
This Library Research Guide will provide information about and access to some of the most significant research materials available in McFarlin Library related to the disciplines of Chemistry and Biochemistry.
"The Publications Division of the American Chemical Society provides the worldwide scientific community with a comprehensive collection of the most cited peer-reviewed journals in the chemical and related sciences. In addition to 34 research journals, the society also publishes the premier weekly newsmagazine of the chemical enterprise, Chemical & Engineering News. With the ACS Journal Archives, ACS Publications provides searchable access to over 130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 750,000 articles dating back to the inaugural volume of the Journal of the American Chemical Society in 1879." -- ACS
"The peer-reviewed journals of ACS publish cutting-edge articles across a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines—agricultural science, biotechnology, analytical chemistry, applied chemistry, biochemistry & molecular biology, chemical biology, chemical engineering, computer science, crystallography, energy & fuels, food science, environmental science, inorganic & nuclear chemistry, material science, medicinal chemistry, organic chemistry, pharmacology, physical chemistry, plant sciences, polymer science, and toxicology. The breadth and scope of ACS Journals is unparalleled." -- ACS website
"BIOSIS Previews serves your every need for finding life sciences references. It consists of 1.8 million records relevant to working biologists, from journals, patents, conference reports and books, and in fully indexed and searchable form." -- website
"PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more." -- NLM
"PubMed lets you search millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. It includes access to MEDLINE® and to citations for selected articles in life science journals not included in MEDLINE. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources." -- National Library of Medicine
"PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information NCBI, at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)." -- NLM
"Journals from the RSC are recognised as the fastest in the field, some papers having been published within a day of receipt, including full peer review and editing. This is made possible by a dedicated, professional staff, and truly innovative electronic workflow systems." -- RSC website
SciFindern is the "next generation" version of SciFinder. Like the original SciFinder it will identify articles, conference proceedings, patents and more in the fields of chemistry, biochemistry and medicine in the Chemical Astracts, MEDLINE and ChemZent databases. Substance searching is particularly powerful, allowing you to retrieve information by name, structure, reaction, molecular formation and more. SciFindern includes PatentPak (full-text patent documents in PDF), truncation searching, MethodsNow, and more. It is also designed to function better on mobile devices.
If you already have an account with the original SciFinder you may use that to sign in to SciFindern. You do not need to create a new account.
If you do not already have a SciFinder account, you will need to create one here. The account is free.
"Scopus covers more than 15,000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, medicine and social sciences from over 4,000 international publishers." Scopus includes "coverage of: Open Access journals, Conference Proceedings, Trade Publications and Book Series." -- Elsevier
Search Summon for Journal Articles
Search the library using Summon for articles from scholarly/peer-reviewed journals.