It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chemistry and Biochemistry: Home
This Library Research Guide will provide information about and access to some of the most significant research materials available in McFarlin Library related to the disciplines of Chemistry and Biochemistry.
This Library Research Guide will provide information about and access to some of the most significant research materials available from McFarlin Library related to the study of Chemistry and Biochemistry.
If you're just beginning your research or you want to develop a basic understanding of Chemistry and Biochemistry, check out the Books & E-Books tab. Books often synthesize the available scholarship on a topic. This makes them an excellent resource when you need a lot of information quickly (including historical information), you want to put a topic in context with other issues, or you need a good summary of research. McFarlin Library provides books in both print and electronic formats.
If you're doing more in-depth research, such as for an upper division or graduate class or a senior project, you'll probably want to track down some journal articles on your topic. Check out what's in the Journal Articles tab. You'll learn about the major resources McFarlin has that will help you identify and retrieve professional and scholarly articles on Chemistry-related topics.
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics provides you with quick access to authoritative information relating to terminology, symbols, constants, properties and other data for elements, compounds, fluids, solids, gases, metals and more.
SciFindern is the "next generation" version of SciFinder. Like the original SciFinder it will identify articles, conference proceedings, patents and more in the fields of chemistry, biochemistry and medicine in the Chemical Astracts, MEDLINE and ChemZent databases. Substance searching is particularly powerful, allowing you to retrieve information by name, structure, reaction, molecular formation and more. SciFindern includes PatentPak (full-text patent documents in PDF), truncation searching, MethodsNow, and more. It is also designed to function better on mobile devices.
If you already have an account with the original SciFinder you may use that to sign in to SciFindern. You do not need to create a new account.
If you do not already have a SciFinder account, you will need to create one here. The account is free.
"Scopus covers more than 15,000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, medicine and social sciences from over 4,000 international publishers." Scopus includes "coverage of: Open Access journals, Conference Proceedings, Trade Publications and Book Series." -- Elsevier
Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources
IMPORTANT NOTICE: Systematic downloading of the licensed and copyrighted content of McFarlin Library's electronic resources, such as the use of scripted searches, download accelerators or web robots (i.e., "bots") of any kind, is STRICTLY PROHIBITED. You should download only the content you require for your immediate research needs or course assignment. For more information, please see McFarlin Library's Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources.