Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
McFarlin Logo
Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday 9:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Friday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

Get Help

Chemistry and Biochemistry: Books/E-Books

This Library Research Guide will provide information about and access to some of the most significant research materials available in McFarlin Library related to the disciplines of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

How do I find a book I need?

Print Books: The area in which the print books are shelved (often called the bookstacks or stacks) is located in the West Wing of McFarlin Library.  Because of the COVID-19 pandemic the stacks are currently closed to the public.  If you find a book you want, you may submit an online request for a book (or books). You'll be notified when the book is ready for you to come to the library for pick up at the Plaza Level Check-out Desk.  If you're in the library you may fill out a book request form at the Main Level Research Desk or the Plaza Level Check-out Desk.  A library staff member will retrieve the book from the stacks for you and deliver it to the Check-out Desk where you may then pick it up.  If you're new to the library or unsure of how to find books you need, just ask for assistance at the Research Desk.

Bookstacks on the Main Level of McFarlin Library

E-books: McFarlin has a substantial collection of electronic books.  These are available online, 24/7.  You will need to be a currently enrolled student in order to check these out.  Many of these are on the EBSCOhost research database platform.  EBSCO has an entire website devoted to providing support for users of these ebooks.  Or you may contact the research desk if you need assistance.

TU Catalog Quick Search

McFarlin Library's Ebooks

McFarlin Library provides you with access to a large number of ebook (electronic book) collections.  These include reference (quick information) books, classic literature, academic/scholarly publications, fiction, biographies, and more. 

Some ebooks are from free collections, such as Project Gutenberg or ManyBooks.  These are generally works in the public domain, usually published before about 1923, and have few if any restrictions on their use.

Search ALL McFarlin E-books by title:

   


The library pays for access to other collections, such as the EBSCOhost eBook Collection.


Search only EBSCO eBooks


The EBSCOhost eBook Collection brings you tens of thousands of recently published, academically-oriented ebooks. You can search for a particular book by title, author, or keyword or search the content of individual titles.  You can also browse the collection by broad subject area, such as "Business & Economics", "Sciences", "Literature & Criticism", etc.

You may read the EBSCOhost ebooks online or download most of them to your PC or ereader. (These are recent, copyrighted works and their use is determined by the company that owns the copyright.)

If you need assistance in using the EBSCO ebooks, please consult the EBSCO Ebooks Support Center which provides detailed instructions, including a step-by-step video tutorial on how to check out and download EBSCO ebooks.  You may also contact the McFarlin Library Research Dept.  The librarians will be happy to help!

Look for More Books

Can't find what you need at McFarlin? Use these resources to locate books that may be available online or from other libraries. If you find a book you want:

  1. Check Encore to be sure McFarlin doesn't have it
  2. Then go to the Interlibrary Loan Department and request a copy