Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
McFarlin Logo
Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Friday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

Get Help

Library Introduction for PE 1001 Orientation: Find E-books

E-Book Quick Search

Search for ALL e-books available from McFarlin Library:

 

About E-books at McFarlin

McFarlin Library provides you with access to a large number of ebook collections.  These include reference (quick information) books, classic literature, academic/scholarly publications, fiction, biographies, and more. 

Some of our ebooks are from free collections, such as Project Gutenberg or ManyBooks.  These are generally works in the public domain, usually published before about 1923, and have few if any restrictions on their use. 

The library pays for access to other collections, such as the EBSCOhost eBook Collection (see box at right) or the Credo reference books.   These are recent, copyrighted works and their use is determined by the company that owns the copyright and/or provides us with access.

Some ebooks may only be read online using a browser on a PC, laptop, tablet, etc.  Others may be downloaded and read on an ereader, such as a Kindle or a Nook.

As with other McFarlin Library materials, please ask a librarian whenever you have questions or need assistance using the library's ebooks.

EBSCOhost eBooks

Search Only EBSCOhost eBooks
Limit Your Results

The EBSCOhost eBook Collection brings you over 100,000 recently published electronic books (eBooks) and is designed and engineered with the latest technology to help you find the exact information you need simply and quickly. You can search for a particular book by title, author, or keyword or search the content of individual titles.  You can also browse the collection by broad subject area, such as "Business & Economics", "Sciences", "Literature & Criticism", etc.

Some Things to Remember:

  • You may read the EBSCOhost ebooks online or download them to your PC or ereader.
  • You may check out most EBSCOhost ebooks for up to twenty-one (21) days.
  • You may check out no more than fifty (50) ebooks at one time.
  • You may read a book you've checked out online or download it to your computer or portable device. To download an ebook:

Putting an eBook onto an ereader:

Watch an EBSCO tutorial on downloading ebooks.

What you'll need:

  1. You must have a myEBSCOhost account. If you don't have one, go into EBSCOhost, click on "Sign In" and then choose "Create a New Account".
  2. You must have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your computer. Go here to download this free software.
  3. Finally, you'll need an Adobe ID to complete the authorization of your ereading device.  Get one by visiting the Adobe website.

The procedure for moving an ebook from your computer to an ereader varies somewhat from one ereader to another.  EBSCO provides basic instructions that should work for most major ereaders.

IMPORTANT: Amazon's Kindle is not compatible with EBSCO's eBooks.  However, if you have a Kindle Fire, EBSCO provides specific instructions here.