Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
McFarlin Logo
Library Hours (Complete list of hours)
Monday - Thursday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Friday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

Get Help

Library Introduction for PE 1001 Orientation: Library Services

Library’s Web Site

Start your library research by visiting the McFarlin Library Website:

  • Access over 600 research databases that provide citations, abstract, or full‐text of online journals, magazines, and newspaper articles.
     
  • Access Encore, the library’s catalog to find out what books (audio, online, & print) as well as videos (DVDs and CDs) are available.

Library Collections

McFarlin Library's collections provide access to information in a variety of formats:

  • BOOKS:
    • Over 920,000 volumes (includes print volumes of journals)
    • Over 620,000 titles
    • Over 900,000 e‐books
  • DVDs/VHS: Over 7,500
  • CDs: 10,000
  • Print Periodicals (includes serials): Over 1,000
  • Electronic Periodicals: Over 120,000

Use the Library from Home

Off‐campus access to the library's large collection of databases and e‐journals is restricted to current TU students, faculty, and staff. You must access the databases by going through the library's website or the library's catalog and logging into your "My Library Account" with your last name and TU ID number.

Library Computers & Wireless Access

Wireless Internet access is available at McFarlin. For more information, including instructions on how to get connected to the wireless network, please consult the Information Services website.

Ask a Librarian!

Please contact us for more information on any of our services or resources. Our librarians will be more than happy to answer your questions and assist you in locating items or information, provide guidance in researching a topic, or assist you in using any of the print or electronic resources in the library.

  • Come in person to the Reference Desk on the Main Level in the West Wing.
     
  • Call the Library Service Desk: 918‐631‐2871
     
  • Text Messaging : 224‐357‐6350 (22helpme50)
     
  • E‐mail: Please submit your question by sending the following information to mcfarlinlibrary@utulsa.edu.

Need Help with Your Research Assignment?

Our LibGuides, offer a wide variety of subject guides that include links to relevant books, article databases, and credible web sites. These guides serve as an excellent starting point for your research needs and will save you valuable time and frustration in finding appropriate resources for your assignments.

Study Areas

  • The Library has designated three Reading Rooms as quiet study areas. The North and South Reading Rooms are on the Plaza Level, and the third Reading Room is on the Third Floor. No talking or visiting is allowed in these rooms at any time.
     
  • The Library has designated the Study Level and Lower Level as group study areas where quiet talking is allowed. 
     
  • Go to the Gray Commons on the Third Floor, directly above the Circulation Desk, for not-so-quiet group study.  (But remember you ARE still in a library!) 
     
  • McFarlin provides two private group study rooms for current students, located on the Lower Level of the library.  They contain a large conference table, comfortable chairs, a large whiteboard, and power and data outlets for laptops.  Contact the Writing Center to reserve this room. One room is ideal for 4-6 people and the other room is designed to fit 8-10 people. 

Printing, Copying, & Scanning

  • Photocopy machines are available on the Main, Intermediate, and Lower Levels. (Copiers for microfilm and microfiche are available only on the Lower Level at no charge.)
     
  • The photocopy machines on the Intermediate and Lower Levels cost 10 cents per page. The machine on the Main level is a color copier and that is 20 cents per color copy.  A change machine is available on the Main Level.

Circulation Desk

Go to the Circulation Desk on the Plaza Level to check out, renew, and return books and other library materials; check out reserve materials; and inquire about loan periods. Standard check out period for books for undergraduates is 28 days. You can have up to 100 books checked out at a time.  You may renew your books online by using your My Library account.

Borrowing Material

Your TU Student ID serves as your library borrower’s card. Circulating materials include books, music CDs, educational DVDs (documentaries, classic films) and popular DVDs (recent movies, TV shows).

In‐Library Use Material

Print reference books, magazines, newspapers, and reserve materials can only be used in the library.

Borrowing from Other Libraries

Materials can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. To request material, fill out the Interlibrary Loan Request form.