LibGuides: Media Studies: A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources: Statistics

Demographic Data

DemographicsNow (via TCCL) This link opens in a new window
Not licensed for classroom usage, only licensed for personal usage
"DemographicsNow provides users with access to robust and highly detailed U.S. demographic data. It is ideal for gaining consumer and market insight when opening a business, finding an untapped audience for products/services, analyzing the shifts and needs of a given population, and so much more. Additionally, the power of DemographicsNow stands out with its reporting capability, which allows users to easily and rapidly produce a variety of compiled reports -- standard and custom -- that will help them make informed and accurate decisions." -- TCCL
This resource is provided by the Tulsa City-County Library. In order to access it you must have a valid public library card. Your TU login will not work. If you do not have a library card you may apply online for one by clicking here.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
"The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web." -- ProQuest
World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new window
"The World Development Indicators (WDI) provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960." -- World Bank

Statistics

Economic Indicators This link opens in a new window
"Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics." -- GPO
FAOSTAT This link opens in a new window
"FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries." -- Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
Fedstats This link opens in a new window
FedStats serves as a gateway to statistical information from more than 100 federal agencies. It is a "window on the full range of official statistical information available to the public from the Federal Government. Use the Internet's powerful linking and searching capabilities to track economic and population trends, education, health care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, farm production, and more. Access official statistics collected and published by more than 100 Federal agencies without having to know in advance which agency produces them. -- FedStats website
"Note: All of the statistical information available through FedStats is maintained and updated solely by Federal agencies on their own web servers." -- FedStats website
Health, United States This link opens in a new window
Health, United States presents national trends in health statistics on such topics as birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance and managed care, and other health topics. The report includes a chartbook and trend tables that may be viewed and printed using Adobe Acrobat. Trend tables are also available as downloadable spreadsheet files for data manipulation or graphical analysis. Data trends may be more complete in spreadsheet files than in pdf files." -- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
International Debt Statistics This link opens in a new window
"Focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies (data from Quarterly External Debt Statistics and Quarterly Public Sector Debt databases). Includes over 200 time series indicators from 1970 to 2011, for most reporting countries, and pipeline data for scheduled debt service payments on existing commitments to 2019." -- World Bank
Britannica Academic: Compare Countries This link opens in a new window
Choose two countries and quickly compare their populations, areas, and other important facts. Provided by Encyclopædia Britannica.
USA Trade Online This link opens in a new window
"Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau, USA Trade Online is a dynamic data tool that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data. With multiple data sets and capabilities, USA Trade Online can assist different types of customers from a wide range of industries and fields. Manufacturers and other businesses wishing to expand their business globally can utilize USA Trade Online to identify new markets, evaluate existing markets, and perform other market research tasks. The data available through this tool can also support economists in interpreting economic news and performing academic research, as well assist governments and federal agencies in analyzing domestic and international trade policies." -- Census Bureau

Historical

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
"This definitive reference work contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present" -- Cambridge University Press