It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Media Studies: Books/E-Books
This McFarlin Library Research Guide will introduce you to some of the major resources available from McFarlin Library for research in the field of MEDIA STUDIES.
Print Books: The area in which the print books are shelved (often called the bookstacks or stacks) is located in the West Wing of McFarlin Library. The bookstacks are open to the public and you are free to browse them.
The library also offers a retrieval service. If you find a book you want, you may submit an online request for a book (or books). You'll be notified when the book is ready for you to come to the library for pick up at the Plaza Level Check-out Desk. If you're in the library you may fill out a book request form at the Main Level Research Desk or the Plaza Level Check-out Desk. A library staff member will retrieve the book from the stacks for you and deliver it to the Check-out Desk where you may then pick it up. If you're new to the library or unsure of how to find books you need, just ask for assistance at the Research Desk.
E-books: McFarlin has a substantial collection of electronic books. These are available online, 24/7. You will need to be a currently enrolled student in order to check these out. Many of these are on the ProQuest research database platform. ProQuest has an online help devoted to providing support for users of these ebooks. Or you may contact the research librarians if you need assistance.
Library materials for Media Studies are listed in the Library's Classic Catalog under these suggested subject headings:
Reporters and Reporting
Women in mass media
Summon Quick Search for Books
Search the library using Summon for print books or ebooks.
The library pays for access to other collections, such as ProQuest's Ebook Central.
ProQuest's Ebook Central has over 200,000 academic ebooks from a variety of publishers on a wide range of topics and disciplines. You may read the ebooks in your browser or check them out and download them for offline reading on your laptop, tablet or phone (iOS or Android).
HINT: To search for an exact title, enclose the title in quotation marks: for example, "Diplomat in Carpet Slippers"
WorldCat contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries, making it the largest database of library holdings in the world. More than 290,000,000 bibliographic records, representing more than 2,000,000,000 holdings from over 72,000 libraries in 170 countries with materials in over 470 languages, make up the database. It includes not only books, but also software, manuscripts, films, slides, music scores, newspapers, journals, videorecordings, magazines, and more.
"The University of Tulsa is dedicated to offering you access to the widest possible range of resources. You are now able to search our collection and the collections of many other libraries worldwide using WorldCat, the world's largest network of library-based content and services." -- Open WorldCat website
"ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content." -- ProQuest
Tulsa City-County Library System is the primary information and resource center for the Tulsa, Oklahoma, metropolitan area. More than 1.7 million volumes and numerous library services are available to the public. Services range from Internet access and on-line databases, to adult literacy tutoring and children's reading programs. The Central Library, four regional libraries, and 19 branch libraries in Tulsa County serve over 308,000 library cardholders who check out more than 3.7 million books and materials each year.