McFarlin has been a partial depository for federal publications since January 10, 1929. McFarlin also served, from 1979 to mid-2015, as a depository for publications produced by the State of Oklahoma and received via the Oklahoma Publications Clearinghouse unit of the Oklahoma Department of Libraries. Generally, a member of Congress designates a library for entry into the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP). We have not been able to find documentation at either TU or at the Government Printing Office (GPO) to say exactly who sponsored McFarlin, but we will continue to research our history. The depository serves Oklahoma's 1st Congressional district which includes the majority of Tulsa County, Washington and Wagoner counties as well as parts of Rogers and Creek counties.
The University of Tulsa has a second depository at the Mabee Legal Information Center (MLIC), which contains legal and regulatory materials. McFarlin also works closely with Tulsa City-County Library depository colleagues to ensure all citizens have free access to government information. The 20 depository libraries in Oklahoma work together and through our state's two regionals to share government information content. The Regional website includes the Oklahoma State Plan for the FDLP and other links of interest to the state.
The University of Tulsa is a Top 100 Private Research University and no. 79 among all Best Value Universities in the country. The Government Documents Collection was built to support the curricular and research needs of the University's undergraduate students, graduate students, and faculty as well as the larger Tulsa community. The government documents coordinator oversees the annual selection review in consultation with other library specialists. Currently, the government document collection is transitioning to a digital collection. The selection list is undergoing vigorous review to convert to an authorized electronic edition where available.
Collection development has focused on the following broad subject areas: Anthropology, Business and Economics, Health and Psychology, History/International Relations/Politics, Natural and Physical Sciences, especially Petroleum Engineering and Geology, Indigenous American topics, and State/Regional/Local Topics.
Primary users of the depository collection are the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Tulsa. The Government Documents collection is available to the public as well. McFarlin follows access policies described in the Legal Requirements & Program Regulations of the Federal Depository Program, the Depository Users and Service Expectation, and the Free Public Access guidance notes developed by the U.S. Government Printing Office.
Following library policy, all visitors must sign in at the circulation desk on the plaza level of McFarlin. Visitors may request the daily guest login information if they need access to online resources. Patron under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult unless prior arrangements have been made.
McFarlin Hours
|
Monday - Thursday |
7:30 a.m. - 10:00 p.m. |
|
Friday |
7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. |
|
Saturday |
10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. |
|
Sunday |
1:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. |
For more information regarding visitor access, check the Visitor Information page on McFarlin's website.
