Film Studies: Home

Identify and Develop a Topic

Selecting a research topic is much like deciding on a travel destination. Once you have narrowed your ideas to an interesting subject, write down a brief statement about this topic. For example: "Rock groups of the 60s, their popularity and major influence on the music industry."  Once the topic is selected, write down specific questions that you'll want to answer. The research process will drive your destination. Your original topic may develop into something entirely different. You may choose to follow an alternate path and go down a different road.

Find Background Information

After determining the topic, you can map out your route. You must identify the types of sources that will provide the information needed, then determine where to find these sources. Types of sources that should be considered include books, periodicals, the Internet, and other libraries (through interlibrary loan).

The key to finding books is the online library catalog called Discovery.  Search in Discovery by selecting a keyword that best describes your topic. You can also search by title, author, subject, or keyword. In addition to books, the catalog allows you to search for periodicals, government documents, audiovisual material, and Special Collections.   

 If you get lost during your sight-seeing trip, stop and ask directions. The following reference sources will be most useful to acquire quick answers to any questions you may have.

•  Begin with Encyclopedias, then to get off the main drag, use Subject Encyclopedias.

•  What does it mean?  Use a Dictionary.       

•  How much, how many?  Find Statistical Information.

•  Who?  Find Biographical Information.

•  How can I get in touch?  Use a Directory.

•  Where do I go from here?  Bibliographies.

Find Journal Articles

Periodicals include newspapers, magazines, and journals. They are published regularly, daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly. Journals are periodicals containing articles written by experts in a particular field of study. If the researcher wrote the article, is it a primary source. If reporters write the article, such as in popular magazines, it is a secondary source. Typically, journal articles contain extensive bibliographies that lead to additional sources.

Journal List - If there is a specific journal that you are looking for, this will take you directly to McFarlin's holdings.

Discovery - If there is a specific article that you are looking for, you can search Summon with that article's title.

Database List - If you don't have a specific journal or article in mind, then McFarlin's databases will allow you to search multiple journals with a keyword.

Film Analysis

The main purpose of a film analysis paper is to provide an in-depth examination and evaluation of a particular film or set of films. Film analysis paper aims to move beyond just summarizing the plot, and instead critically examine how the various cinematic techniques are used to create meaning, develop themes, shape the viewer's experience, and contribute to the overall artistic value and cultural relevance of the film. The purpose is an insightful interpretation supported by detailed evidence from the film itself. The key components of a film analysis are described below.

Introduction

• Provide brief background information about the film (title, director, year of release, etc.).
• State your thesis clearly - this is your main argument or interpretation of the film that you will support throughout the paper.

Summary/Synopsis

• Give a concise summary of the plot and main events of the film. Avoid excessive detail on minor events.
• Identify the main characters and their roles.
• Establish the setting and context of the film.

Analysis

Narrative Structure

• Examine the plot structure, pacing, use of conflict and resolution.
• Analyze character motivations and development.
• Discuss major themes, motifs, symbols.

Cinematography

• Focus on specific camera techniques (angles, movements, framing, etc.) and how they are used for effect.
• Evaluate the lighting, color, and visual style.

Editing

• Analyze transitions between scenes and sequences.
• Discuss how editing contributes to tone, rhythm, and viewer experience.

Sound/Music

• Examine the soundtrack, score, and use of sound effects or silence.
• Evaluate how sound elements enhance the mood and meaning.

Mise-en-scène

• Analyze the setting, props, costumes and how they contribute symbolically.
• Discuss the staging and movement within the frame.

Conclusion

• Summarize your key points and restate your thesis.
• Discuss the broader significance or implications of your interpretation.
• You can offer recommendations, but avoid simply saying if you liked the film or not.