Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TU Catalog Quick Search
Search the library catalog using Encore
for print books, ebooks, DVDs, and other materials you need.
Where are the books shelved?
Most of the film studies books are located on the north end of the Main Level in McFarlin Library's west wing.
Books relating to cinema (and drama in general) have call numbers beginning with the letters "PN". The letters and numbers that follow indicate the specific subject area. For example:
|| Motion pictures
|| History of film by country
|| United States
|| General works on cinema
|| General special: film criticism, aesthetics, etc.
|| Pictures and sound
|| Silent film
|| Special topics (not country-specific)
|| Film noir
|| Authorship, scenario writing, etc.
|| Plays, scenarios, etc.
|| Fellini, Federico
|PN2287, PN2308, etc.
||Individual actors and actresses
|| Clark Gable
|| Vivien Leigh
Finding Books on Film Genres
The following are examples of Encore subject headings for books about films of various genres.
A film genre isn't its theme or topic, but there may be overlap.
Books about Film Studies
The following books will be helpful in finding information about Film Studies.
To check if McFarlin Library has these books in our collection, and to get the call number to find the book on the shelf, please use the Encore link on the right side of the page.
- Film Analysis: a Casebook
- Film Art: an Introduction
- A Short Guide to Writing About Film
- Cinema Studies: the Key Concepts
- Companion to Film Theory
- Cinema Year by Year 1894-2002
- Dictionary of Film Terms
- Dictionary of Film Studies
- Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
- Encyclopedia of European Cinema
- International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
- International Film Guide
- Oxford Guide to Film Studies
- Semiotics and documentary films: the living sign in the cinema (2013)
- Visual peace: images, spectatorship. and the politics of violence (2013)
- Animated realism: a behind the scenes look at the animated documentary genre (2012)
- American documentary film: projecting the nation (2011)
- Visual storytelling: the digital video documentary (2011)
- Photographic memories: private pictures, public images, and American history (2007)
Look for More Books
Can't find what you need at McFarlin? Use these resources to locate books that may be available online or from other libraries. If you find a book you want:
- Check Encore to be sure McFarlin doesn't have it
- Then go to the Interlibrary Loan Department and request a copy
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
Potentially the most valuable resource in FirstSearch, WorldCat contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries, making it the largest database of library holdings in the world. More than 290,000,000 bibliographic records, representing more than 2,000,000,000 holdings from over 72,000 libraries in 170 countries with materials in over 470 languages, make up the database. It includes not only books, but also software, manuscripts, films, slides, music scores, newspapers, journals, videorecordings, magazines, and more.
"The University of Tulsa is dedicated to offering you access to the widest possible range of resources. You are now able to search our collection and the collections of many other libraries worldwide using WorldCat, the world's largest network of library-based content and services." -- Open WorldCat website
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
"ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content." -- ProQuest
Tulsa City-County Library
Tulsa City-County Library System is the primary information and resource center for the Tulsa, Oklahoma, metropolitan area. More than 1.7 million volumes and numerous library services are available to the public. Services range from Internet access and on-line databases, to adult literacy tutoring and children's reading programs. The Central Library, four regional libraries, and 19 branch libraries in Tulsa County serve over 308,000 library cardholders who check out more than 3.7 million books and materials each year.