LibGuides: Applied Health Sciences: A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources: Evidence Based Practice

What is Evidence Based Practice?

"Evidence-based practice (EBP), sometimes referred to as evidence-based nursing, is a problem-solving approach to clinical care that utilizes current best evidence from well-designated studies, a clinician’s expertise, and patient values and preferences."

(Fitzpatrick, J. J., Carpenter, R., & Smith, M. J. (2015). Encyclopedia of Nursing Education. New York, NY: Springer Publishing Company. p 144.)

EBP Tutorial (Duke University) LINK

Cochrane Library

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
"The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups." -- website

Ace Star Model

Ace Star Model
"The Star Model provides a focal point for evidence-based practice activities, including education and interdisciplinary research projects. Dr. Kathleen Stevens shares her expertise through the STAR model which in the videos below which have been viewed and referenced 3,000+ times. The STAR model is utilized by higher education and organizations that provide learning content for nursing professionals." -- website

Johns Hopkins Model

[Excerpt and supplemental materials for] Johns Hopkins nursing evidence-based practice: Model and guidelines (3rd ed.)
"About this book: Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines has proven to be one of the most foundational books on EBP in nursing. This fully revised third edition builds on the strength of the first two editions with updated content based on more than a decade of the model's use and refinement in real-life settings. Authors Deborah Dang and Sandra L. Dearholt also incorporated feedback from nurses around the world." -- website

ARCC Model

Advancing Research & Clinical Practice Through Close Collaboration (ARCC) Model
"The ARCC model focuses on system-wise implementation of evidence-based practice (EBP) and sustainability of EBP to achieve quality outcomes. The model has five steps:

- assessment of culture and organizational readiness for implementation in the healthcare system
- identification of facilitators and barriers of the EBP process in the organization
- identification of EBP mentors
- implementation of the evidence into organizational practice
- evaluation of the outcomes resulting from the practice change" -- Universtiy of Maryland School of Nursing

JBI

Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database This link opens in a new window
"This comprehensive database covers a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes a unique suite of information that’s been analyzed, appraised, and prepared by expert reviewers at JBI so you and your team can integrate the world’s best evidence into your practice." -- Ovid

Iowa Model

Iowa Model of Evidence Based Practice
"The Iowa Model is a widely used framework for the implementation of evidence-based practice (EBP). Changes in health care (e.g., emergence of implementation science, emphasis on patient engagement) prompted the re-evaluation, revision, and validation of the model." -- website

Stetler Model

Stetler Model
"...this model formulated a series of critical-thinking and decision-making steps designed to facilitate safe and effective use of research findings." -- Stetler, Cheryl B., Evolution of the Stetler Model, 2001.

Caledonian Model

Caledonian Model
"The model features practice-development activities, benchmarking, knowledge pooling and translation through membership of a community of practice and a virtual college." -- website

i-PARIHS Framework Model

Integrated Promoting Action on Research Implementation in Health Services Framework Model
"The PARIHS framework presents successful research implementation as a function of the relationships among evidence, context, and facilitation. The framework considers these elements to have a dynamic, simultaneous relationship. " -- Ovid

UpToDate

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
"For more than 20 years, clinicians around the world have relied on UpToDate as their primary resource for medical knowledge at the point of care. The knowledge contained in UpToDate is evidence-based and continuously updated, but it is not merely an aggregation and report of the latest research; UpToDate presents a comprehensive synthesis of the evidence, followed by recommendations that can be acted on at the point of care. It combines an advanced publishing platform with the rigor of a sophisticated editorial process managed by a faculty of accomplished physician authors and editors, renowned leaders in their specialties." -- UpToDate website
IMPORTANT: To use UpToDate you must create a personal account by accessing the database through the above hyperlink. You can then use that account to access UpToDate from anywhere, including the mobile app. However, after 90 days you will be required to once again access UpToDate via the library website in order to validate your account for another 90 days.
NOTE: Includes Lexicomp