LibGuides: Business: A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources: Journal Articles

Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Journal articles are important in your research. You should use periodical indexes to identify current journal and newspaper articles published in the professional and scholarly literature on topics relevant to your research project. Indexes can be subject-specific for in-depth research or can be more general in nature.

Current journal indexes are online, although a few older ones are in print. All indexes provide a citation, many provide an abstract, and a few provide the full text of the article. If the article is not available in full text, you must use the journal titles list to find out if McFarlin Library subscribes to the journal that published the article you need. If McFarlin subscribes to the journal, note the location and format of the periodical. Back issues of periodicals might be found as a hard copy, on microfilm, or online. If McFarlin Library does not subscribe to the journal you need, you may request it through interlibrary loan.

To find articles in business, search the following electronic indexes:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
"Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc." -- EBSCO
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
"Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,300 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics." Additional full text content includes:
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
"This state-of-the-art product provides Internet-based access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company database available, with the latest in features and functions. Rich textual descriptions - the hallmark of all Mergent publications - offer a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in 'as-reported' form and in native currencies, maintaining the full integrity of this critical information." -- Mergent
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
"Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning, and acquire the research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers, ProQuest One Business is a complete business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more." -- ProQuest

Google Scholar

About Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a version of the Google search engine that searches the web for scholarly publications (primarily articles and books).

Important note: Articles found through Google Scholar are not guaranteed to be peer-reviewed. Additionally, Google Scholar cannot access proprietary databases such as those in EBSCOhost.

Google provides links to the articles it finds, usually on the publisher's website. You will be able to access the full text of the article if:

the article is freely available (i.e. in the public domain or open access)
McFarlin Library subscribes to the journal online and you are on the TU campus while using Google Scholar

You may not be able to access the full text through Scholar if:

McFarlin Library does not subscribe to the journal online and it is not freely available
McFarlin subscribes to the journal online and you are off-campus
McFarlin has access to the journal online through a proprietary database (such as EBSCOhost, ProQuest, Gale, etc.)

Library Links

McFarlin participates in Google Scholar's "Library Links" feature which should link you to the full text of an article (if the library subscribes or has access through another database) or to the availability of a book at the library.

This works automatically if you're on campus.

To use this feature off campus you'll need to set up your Scholar preferences.

Search for the University of Tulsa to save it to your Google Scholar settings.

Here are some Google Scholar search tips.