Graduate Student Success Hub

McFarlin Library is a great place to come and read, relax, or complete research.

We'll help you discover :

• Articles and more using numerous research databases
• Books from our collection
• DVDs for research or pleasure
• Music of all kinds
• Interlibrary Loan                                                 

Special Collections at the University of Tulsa are accessible by appointment 

• Special Collections at McFarlin Library include extensive holdings in 19th and 20th-century Irish, British, and American literature; in Native American history; and in World War I literature, letters, and artifacts. These resources, which include primary documents such as manuscripts and letters, are made freely available to TU students and the public.

TU Special Collection Mission Statement

"The Department of Special Collections and University Archives contributes to the mission of the McFarlin Library at The University of Tulsa by supporting the curricular and research needs of our users, which include students, faculty, the local community, and scholars around the world."

Special Collections Mission accessed 07/30/2025

The Helmerich Center for American Research at Gilcrease Museum are accessible by appointment include:

• Helmerich Center for American Research (HCAR) "houses the Gilcrease Library and Archive containing more than 100,000 rare books, documents, maps and unpublished works. The collection includes a vast archive of printed documents, dating back to the time of Columbus, that detail the Spanish arrival in the Americas, as well as the New England colonies, Westward expansion and the experiences of America’s native peoples."

"HCAR Mission Statement

The Helmerich Center for American Research fosters conversations among scholars from diverse disciplines connected through their shared focus on the Americas, supporting individual scholars in their study of collections housed at the Helmerich Center, Gilcrease Museum, and TU’s McFarlin Library. In support of The University of Tulsa’s mission, the Helmerich Center through scholar engagement is the bridge between the museum and its collections to the University and the larger research community."                

About the Helmerich Center for American Research accessed 7/30/2025