Classical Studies: Additional Resources

The Center promotes cartography, historical geography, and geographic information science (GIS) as essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies. The Center promotes its own independent research projects and collaborates with scholars to produce maps on specification for scholarly publication.

Arachne is an internet research tool for the Archaeologies and Altertumswissenschaft. It offers a means to access objects and their states and to search efficiently in hundreds of thousands of datasets.

Based in the Faculty of Classics CSAD is one of the world’s foremost centres for the study of the documentary evidence for the ancient world. It hosts projects of national and international significance in the fields of Greek and Roman epigraphy. CSAD maintains close links with the related disciplines of papyrology, numismatics and prosopography.

The Classical Art Research Centre (CARC) is one of the strategic research units of the Oxford University Faculty of Classics. Our purpose is to stimulate and support fresh research on many aspects of ancient Greek and Roman art, as well as hosting our own projects. We provide physical and virtual archives and databases, web resources, conferences, workshops, and publications, serving an very global audience beyond Oxford.

Latin inscriptions are valuable historical sources that provide crucial information on the history of the Roman Empire as well as on Roman life and living. Today, the CIL counts 17 volumes in folio format in about 80 parts, containing almost 200,000 inscriptions. The supplementary volumes provide tables, indices, and further studies. The inscriptions are edited mainly on the basis of the original inscriptions, but also in consideration of their tradition in manuscripts and print.

The Lexicon of Greek Personal Names (LGPN) traces every bearer of every name, drawing on a huge variety of evidence, from personal tombstones, dedications, works of art, to civic decrees, treaties, citizen-lists, artefacts, graffiti etc.: in other words, from all Greek literary sources, documentary sources (inscriptions and papyri), coins, and artefacts.

MAPS is a vast geodatabase with visual, geospatial and analytical capabilities. A free digital atlas of past societies available on desktop and mobile devices, it expands the way the world understands history.

The Medieval and Classical Literature Library is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization.

Focusing exclusively on real people, this is a dictionary of ancient biography, covering Greek and Roman history and politics, literature, philosophy, science, and art.

The Papyrological Navigator (PN) supports searching, browsing, and aggregation of ancient papyrological documents and related materials; the Papyrological Editor (PE) enables multi-author, version controlled, peer reviewed scholarly curation of papyrological texts, translations, commentary, scholarly metadata, institutional catalog records, bibliography, and images.

Since planning began in 1985, the Perseus Digital Library Project has explored what happens when libraries move online. Two decades later, as new forms of publication emerge and millions of books become digital, this question is more pressing than ever. Perseus is a practical experiment in which we explore possibilities and challenges of digital collections in a networked world.

Pyle is a collaborative tool for teaching and scholarly research in the field of Greek palaeography and codicology; it aims to collect scattered resources from various individuals and institutions, gradually adding new information, materials and services.

A Classical language learning forum.

The goal of the U.S. Epigraphy Project (USEP) is to collect and share information about inscriptions (primarily Greek and Latin) from the classical Mediterranean world preserved in American public and private collections.

The official library of the Vatican, this site includes the Digital Vatican Library.