LibGuides: Classical Studies: Articles

Best Databases for locating articles in Classical Studies

AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
"AnthroSource is the premier online portal serving the needs of educators, students, researchers, and practitioners. An online service of AAA [American Anthropological Association], AnthroSource offers access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge. " -- Anthrosource website
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
"Art & Architecture Complete™ is the definitive research database for the study of art and architecture. This database provides full-text coverage of more than 330 periodicals and 215 books. In addition, Art & Architecture Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for nearly 730 academic journals, magazines and trade publications. The database also provides selective coverage for more than 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 64,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others." -- EBSCO
"Art & Architecture Complete has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes art scholars, artists, designers, college students, and general researchers. This database covers a wide variety of pertinent subjects, including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design, and much more. " -- EBSCO
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is now on the JSTOR platform!
"With more than 2 million images* (and growing), scholars can easily examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and modern architectural plans from Columbia University. Composed of approximately 300 curated sub-collections, Artstor supports and enriches study across disciplines, including world events from Magnum Photos, anthropology from Harvard’s Peabody Museum, and archaeology from Erich Lessing Culture and Fine Art Archives and, making it a resource for your whole institution." -- ARTstor
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
"Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. It is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 370 publications (and selected coverage for over 250), as well as full text for more than 100 journals, and nearly 100 books, over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive, and Variety Movie Reviews from 1914 to present." -- EBSCO
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
"Historical Abstracts™ with Full Text is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more." -- EBSCO
"Historical Abstracts™ with Full Text is essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. In addition, this database provides access to the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years. No other history research tool matches its scholarly standards or comprehensive coverage." -- EBSCO
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
"Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,100 titles and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals. Humanities International Complete is an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Humanities International Complete is an essential collection for libraries looking to provide comprehensive coverage of the humanities with full-text content." -- EBSCO
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
"The Literature Resource Center on GaleNet is a complete literature reference database designed for both the undergraduate and graduate student as well as the sophisticated casual user. Rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content, the Literature Resource Center is the premier Internet resource for information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more." -- Gale
"The foundation of the Literature Resource Center is built on the Gale Group's three hallmark author databases: Contemporary Authors Online, offering biographical coverage of more than 113,000 writers; Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, featuring entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95; and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, containing more than 10,000 biocritical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars.
"The Literature Resource Center also includes selected full-text, excerpted, and commissioned critical material from Gale's respected Literature Criticism and For Students Series. The titles in these series include: Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Drama Criticism, Drama for Students, Literature from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature of Developing Nations for Students, Literature and Its Times, Novels for Students, Poetry Criticism, Poetry for Students, Shakespearean Criticism, Shakespeare for Students, Short Story Criticism, Short Stories for Students, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. In addition, users can access current, full-text critical essays on major authors via the Literature Resource Center's link to more than 200 prominent literary journals.
"Author coverage in the Literature Resource Center is further enhanced by a strategic partnership with Merriam-Webster, Inc. Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, featuring more than 10,000 descriptive entries on literary figures, works, and terms, is included in the basic subscription to the Literature Resource Center. Other features in the Literature Resource Center include over 4700 explications and overviews of prominent literary works; links to 5800 websites focusing on major authors and their works; over 6000 timeline events to help place literature in its historical and social context, 2300 author portraits; a guide to writing a Modern Language Association-style research paper; access to the Literary Index, an online database that indexes the content of all of the Gale Group's literature products; and more." -- Gale
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
"MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. This database includes journal abbreviations and acronyms for almost 3,500 titles, with full journal names standardized and ISSNs attached. MLA International Bibliography also contains nearly 11,000 subject names and terms. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. In addition to the bibliography, the database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals; the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography; and a proprietary, searchable directory of noted authors' names, with links to brief descriptive notes." -- EBSCO
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
"Project MUSE is an online collection of over 300 scholarly journal titles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences from 40 university and society presses. MUSE journals cover many different subject areas including literature, history, political science, economics, education, film, philosophy, religion, women’s studies, and many more. MUSE provides full-text articles, reviews (books, performance, art, music, etc.), fiction and poetry, and enlargeable illustrations and photographs. Most articles are offered in both HTML and PDF formats. MUSE also provides informational pages covering editorial and submission information for the journals." -- Project Muse
"All journals participating in Project MUSE are peer-reviewed, scholarly titles. The basic criteria for participation in Muse are that the journal must be peer-reviewed, be published by a not-for-profit press or scholarly society, and be a sensible fit with titles in the humanities, the social sciences and the arts." -- Project Muse website
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
"The Religion & Philosophy Collection™ is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With more than 300 full text journals and unparalleled coverage of the subject areas listed above, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies. " -- EBSCO

Finding McFarlin's Journals

To find out if McFarlin Library subscribes to a journal that published an article you need, always search the "Journal List", a database of the scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers that the library has both online and in print.

Search here to see if McFarlin subscribes to a journal you need:

Or browse through all of McFarlin's journals by title:

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Your search results, if we have the journal you need, will look something like this:

More Databases for Classical Studies

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
"Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc." -- EBSCO
ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
"Humanities E-Book is a digital collection of 2,200 full-text titles offered by the ACLS [American Council of Learned Societies] in collaboration with nineteen learned societies, nearly 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars and featuring unlimited multi-user access and free, downloadable MARC records. HEB is available 24/7 on- and off-campus through standard web browsers." -- HEB website
Anthropological Index Online This link opens in a new window
"The Library incorporates the former RAI library and receives regular donations of books and journals from the Institute. Its holdings include some 4,000 periodical titles (1,500 current) in all branches of anthropology from academic institutions and publishers around the world. Over 780 journals, published in more than 40 languages, are indexed on a continuing basis." -- from website
Database of Latin Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
"The purpose of the Database of Latin Dictionaries is to produce for scholars and students an online database comprising a large number of Latin dictionaries. The database [comprises] three kinds of dictionaries: dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages, dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words and historical Latin dictionaries." -- Brepols
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
"eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural and ethnographic database containing descriptive information on cultures (based on the Outline of World Cultures or OWC) and ethnic groups from around the world. Each culture collection in eHRAF contains a variety of documents (books, articles, monographs, and dissertations) that have been subject-indexed at the paragraph level by trained anthropologists according to HRAF’s comprehensive Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). This feature extends search capability well beyond keyword searching, allowing for precise culture and subject retrieval, even in a foreign language. As an ethnographic database, eHRAF appeals to many academic disciplines in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, and any other area with an interest in cultural diversity." -- website
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
"In the HathiTrust Digital Library collection, you can find titles on everything from African History, Economics, and French Literature to Solar Energy, Public Health, and materials published in more than 400 languages. The digital library of 18+ million digitized items brings together the collections of more than 60 academic and research libraries from across North America and other countries. Users from around the world use the digital library for their undergraduate and graduate studies, personal research, genealogy, and professional purposes such as law and journalism." -- HathiTrust website
JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. This database is valuable because "the complete backfiles of these core scholarly journals have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. Over 4 million pages are now available. New titles and fields are being added constantly. Issues of journals are never "out"; they are always accessible, and in pristine condition." Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new window
The Library of Latin Texts provides full text access to patristic and medieval texts, the main works of Thomas Aquinas, and neo-Latin classics such as the Institutio christianae religionis of John Calvin and certain Latin works of Descartes.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
"Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; unparalleled business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives." -- LexisNexis
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography "is a collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond from the 4th century BC to the 21st century. It is the first point of reference for anyone interested in the people who left their mark on the history of the British Isles. . . . Entries offer detailed and extensive biographical information drawn from primary and secondary sources and range from a few dozen to 35,000 words in length. With more than 10,000 illustrations, researched in partnership with the National Portrait Gallery, London, the Oxford DNB is also the largest selection of national portraiture ever published." -- Oxford University Press
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
"Oxford Music Online is the new gateway offering users the ability, for the first time ever, to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. The cornerstone of Oxford Music Online, Grove Music Online, has been completely redesigned with a number of functional enhancements and new content." -- Oxford University Press
"Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres; The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Second Edition, Revised (2006) will similarly supplement Grove's more extensive coverage with content geared toward undergraduates and general users." -- Oxford University Press
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) Online This link opens in a new window
"The Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) Online is the largest and most detailed Latin dictionary in the world. With extensive and detailed entries covering the classical period up to about 600 A.D., it is also the first of its kind on the market. This encyclopedic database, based on the renowned print dictionary of the same name, is designed to serve as an ideal tool for both research and teaching preparation at the primary and university school levels." -- De Gruyter

Classical Studies: Articles

Why are journal articles so important?

Best Databases for locating articles in Classical Studies

Finding McFarlin's Journals

More Databases for Classical Studies

Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources