History: Articles

"Humanities E-Book is a digital collection of 2,200 full-text titles offered by the ACLS [American Council of Learned Societies] in collaboration with nineteen learned societies, nearly 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars and featuring unlimited multi-user access and free, downloadable MARC records. HEB is available 24/7 on- and off-campus through standard web browsers." -- HEB website

"Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876 offers 350,000 fully searchable issues from over 710 historical American newspapers. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Clarence S. Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820” and other authoritative bibliographies. Providing unprecedented access to the nation’s early periods, Early American Newspapers, Series 1 enables researchers to explore essential newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia. " -- NewsBank

"America: History and Life™ with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history." -- EBSCO

"The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men & women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped the nation. The American National Biography is the first biographical resource of this scope to be published in more than sixty years." -- from website

"APS Online spans over 1,500 titles and 7 million pages of content, from the first American magazines, published in 1741, to the World War II period-200 years of American history as recorded in magazines, journals, and newspapers." -- ProQuest

"Archives.OK.Gov is a collection of digitized publications and documents from the State Archives at the Oklahoma Department of Libraries. This collection includes a selection of permanent records of state government, such as reports and newsletters of agency activities, that provide a glimpse into the work of state government from its beginnings. The Archives.OK.Gov collection complements Documents.OK.Gov by providing pre-1978 access to Oklahoma government materials." -- ODL

"British Periodicals traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and beyond. On completion this unique digital archive will consist of almost 500 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising six million keyword-searchable pages and forming an unrivalled record of more than two centuries of British history and culture." -- ProQuest

"The C-SPAN Video Library began within the Purdue University School of Liberal Arts in 1987 under the leadership of Dr. Robert X. Browning, who sought a way to archive and index the thousands of hours of congressional coverage produced by the network every year. The project quickly became one of the most comprehensive video archives of governmental and political content, and C-SPAN assumed responsibility for the archival operations in July 1998. In 2010, C-SPAN won its third Peabody Award for the Video Library—now a collection totaling over 220,000 hours of programming first made available to the public for free in 2007. In addition, The Video Library records all three C-SPAN networks seven days a week, twenty-four hours a day. Programs are extensively indexed, making the database of C-SPAN programming an unparalleled chronological resource." -- C-SPAN

"Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH award program will fund the contribution of content from, eventually, all U.S. states and territories." -- Library of Congress

"HeinOnline is proud to partner with Alan Keely, Associate Director for Collection Services at Wake Forest Law Library, to showcase this important work in a new and exciting way. Meticulously researched by Keely, this interactive digital edition takes students and researchers back to Tocqueville's 1831, providing full-text links to the works Tocqueville read while he traveled, researched, and wrote Democracy in America. Keely's annotations provide insight into Tocqueville's thinking, grounding Democracy in America within the context in which it was written. Jump from the pages of Democracy in America into the works that Tocqueville references with HeinOnline's unparalleled access to historical content. Pull up full-text images right to the referenced portion and then dive in deeper, easily navigating between both the reference work and Tocqueville's." -- HeinOnline

"The Digital Public Library of America amplifies the value of libraries and cultural organizations as Americans’ most trusted sources of shared knowledge. We do this by collaborating with partners to accelerate innovative tools and ideas that empower and equip libraries to make information more accessible.

"We work with a national network of partners to:

• "Make millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience.
• "Provide a library-controlled marketplace and platform for libraries to purchase, organize, and deliver ebooks and other e-content to their patrons.
• "Convene library leaders and practitioners to explore and advance technologies that serve, inform, and empower their communities."

—DPLA website

"Search the collections of documents and publications for Oklahoma agencies on Documents.OK.Gov. Access thousands of state government publications and documents that were available only through official Oklahoma state agency websites beginning in November 2006. Also included are digitized versions of other selected state print publications dating back to 1978. For pre-1978 publications, please check the Archives.OK.Gov digital collection." -- ODL

"eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural and ethnographic database containing descriptive information on cultures (based on the Outline of World Cultures or OWC) and ethnic groups from around the world. Each culture collection in eHRAF contains a variety of documents (books, articles, monographs, and dissertations) that have been subject-indexed at the paragraph level by trained anthropologists according to HRAF’s comprehensive Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). This feature extends search capability well beyond keyword searching, allowing for precise culture and subject retrieval, even in a foreign language. As an ethnographic database, eHRAF appeals to many academic disciplines in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, and any other area with an interest in cultural diversity." -- website

"Columbia University Press is pleased to announce that Gutenberg-e is now an open access site. These award winning monographs, coordinated with the American Historical Association, afford emerging scholars new possibilities for online publications, weaving traditional narrative with digitized primary sources, including maps, photographs, and oral histories. The American Council of Learned Societies also carry Gutenberg-e titles on their Humanities E-Book platform." -- Website

"Historical Abstracts™ with Full Text is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more." -- EBSCO

"This definitive reference work contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present" -- Cambridge University Press

"This table provides a list of historical U.S. newspapers that are available online at no cost. Newspapers available for free through Google News Historical Archives and Newspaperarchives.com are listed individually. Newspapers available through Chronicling America and state digitization projects are usually listed as a group." -- website

"Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,100 titles and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals. Humanities International Complete is an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Humanities International Complete is an essential collection for libraries looking to provide comprehensive coverage of the humanities with full-text content." -- EBSCO

"This collection, created by RLUK (Research Libraries UK), contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries. Pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day. They have been underutilized within research and teaching because they are generally quite difficult to access – often bound together in large numbers or otherwise hard to find in the few research libraries that hold them. The digitization of more than 20,000 pamphlets from seven UK institutions will provide researchers, students, and teachers with an immensely rich and coherent corpus of primary sources with which to study the socio-political and economic landscape of 19th century Britain." -- JSTOR

JSTOR provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. This database is valuable because "the complete backfiles of these core scholarly journals have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. Over 4 million pages are now available. New titles and fields are being added constantly. Issues of journals are never "out"; they are always accessible, and in pristine condition." Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

The Library of Congress Digital Collections "provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning." -- Library of Congress

The Library of Latin Texts provides full text access to patristic and medieval texts, the main works of Thomas Aquinas, and neo-Latin classics such as the Institutio christianae religionis of John Calvin and certain Latin works of Descartes.

"The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts." -- website

"Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The book collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books with 19th century imprints." -- MOA website

"Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints." -- website

The Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition (ncse) is a free, online scholarly edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers. It is a collaboration between Birkbeck, University of London, King’s College London (Centre for Computing in the Humanities and the Department of English), the British Library, and Olive Software. It was funded from January 2005 to December 2007 by the Arts and Humanities Research Council. The edition is intended to be of use for anybody with an interest in nineteenth-century literature, history or culture, as well as those interested in the history of the press, or print culture more broadly. It combines easy to use browse functions with advanced searching of the content and the metadata.

"Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; unparalleled business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives." -- LexisNexis

"With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration." -- Gale

The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography "is a collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond from the 4th century BC to the 21st century. It is the first point of reference for anyone interested in the people who left their mark on the history of the British Isles. . . . Entries offer detailed and extensive biographical information drawn from primary and secondary sources and range from a few dozen to 35,000 words in length. With more than 10,000 illustrations, researched in partnership with the National Portrait Gallery, London, the Oxford DNB is also the largest selection of national portraiture ever published." -- Oxford University Press

"This database is derived from the AALL's Joseph L. Andrews Literature Award-winning 2005 sourcebook, Prestatehood Legal Materials, which is edited by Michael Chiorazzi and Marguerite Most and is held in more than 350 libraries. It provides brief overviews of state histories from colonization to statehood and identifies a wide range of both readily available and hard-to-find materials from each state, and links to more than 1,500 full-text documents are provided. This is an invaluable and comprehensive tool for researchers. Unprecedented in its coverage of territorial government, this database holds resources that reveal the underlying legal principles that helped shape the United States. Research how foreign countries controlled the laws of these territories and how the states eventually broke away to govern themselves. Examine the legal issues with Native Americans, inter-state and the Mexican and Canadian borders, and the development of the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of state government." -- HeinOnline

"Project MUSE is an online collection of over 300 scholarly journal titles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences from 40 university and society presses. MUSE journals cover many different subject areas including literature, history, political science, economics, education, film, philosophy, religion, women’s studies, and many more. MUSE provides full-text articles, reviews (books, performance, art, music, etc.), fiction and poetry, and enlargeable illustrations and photographs. Most articles are offered in both HTML and PDF formats. MUSE also provides informational pages covering editorial and submission information for the journals." -- Project Muse

"ProQuest® Congressional allows you to explore Congress in action with the most comprehensive online resource available for congressional publications and legislative research. It includes the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection. It allows you to access the full text of publications dating back in some cases as far as the late eighteenth century in searchable PDF format. You can perform in-depth research in public policy, historical, and legal areas of interest and includes abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, and legislative histories. It also includes member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources." -- ProQuest
NOTE: The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is also available through HeinOnline courtesy of the Mabee Legal Information Center.

"Readers’ Guide Retrospective™: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century." -- EBSCO

"SHAREOK is the joint institutional repository for the University of Oklahoma Libraries (OU) and Oklahoma State University Libraries (OSU). It serves as the home for the intellectual output of both communities, and will ultimately include digital dissertations, faculty publications, digital special collections, open access publications, open educational resources and much more." -- SHAREOK website

"Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching." -- Gale

Hein Online's federal legislative history collection contains bibliographies of compiled legislative histories. -- MLIC

"This library includes such titles as Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents, CFR Title 3 (Presidents), Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, and other documents related to U.S. Presidents." -- HeinOnline

"This library enables legal scholars to research the constitutional and political development of every country in the world. It includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for countries such as Australia, Brazil, China, France, Mexico, the United Kingdom, and many more. It also includes constitutional periodicals, thousands of classic books, other related works such as the World Fact Book, links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographic references." -- HeinOnline

"Between 1940 and 1952, the Abraham Lincoln Association published fifty-two issues of The Abraham Lincoln Quarterly, a journal with original articles regarding all facets of Abraham Lincoln's life and the world in which he lived."

"Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc." -- EBSCO

"ALFRED® allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history. In general, economic data for past observation periods are revised as more accurate estimates become available. As a result, previous vintages of data can be superseded and may no longer be available from various data sources. Vintage or real time economic data allows academics to reproduce others' research, build more accurate forecasting models, and analyze economic policy decisions using the data available at the time." -- Federal Reserve

"EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912." -- EBSCO

"American Politics and Society consists of a wide range of 19th and 20th century material. Going in chronological order, the first module in this category are the papers of one of the most prolific inventors in American History, Thomas A. Edison Papers. The other modules in this category consist of immigration records to the United States during the massive immigration wave from 1880-1930; legal collections from the Harvard Law School Library featuring the papers of three Supreme Court Justices, the first Black federal judge, and one of the most infamous criminal cases of the 20th century; papers of the Progressive leader Robert M. La Follette; records from the Franklin D. Roosevelt White House and other federal agencies on the New Deal and World War II; FBI Files on radical politics; records of the Truman and Eisenhower Presidencies; records of Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, and other anti-Vietnam War organizations; and records on American Politics from the beginning of the Kennedy administration through the Nixon Administration." -- ProQuest

"On March 24, 1800, Forlorn Hope became the first newspaper published within a prison by an incarcerated person. In the intervening 200 years, over 450 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons. Some, like the Angolite and the San Quentin News, are still being published today. American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions." -- JSTOR

Between 1936 and 1938, the WPA Federal Writers' Project hired field workers to collect the life histories of former slaves. Transcripts for 2,000 interviews, from seventeen states, were then compiled by the Library of Congress. In 1972, George Rawick assembled the Library's collection -- over 10,000 typescript pages -- in The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography. In 1997, the collection was indexed by Howard Potts for A Comprehensive Name Index for The American Slave. Now, the collection and the index are available together for the first time in an online, searchable database.

"Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America™ (formerly Bibliography of Native North Americans) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy." -- EBSCO

In this website [developed by ProQuest], we present primary source documents from several of the time periods in American History when the river of the Black Freedom Struggle ran more powerfully, while not losing sight of the fierce, often violent opposition that Black people have faced on the road to freedom.

This website contains approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom:

• Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860)
• The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877)
• Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932)
• The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945)
• The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975)
• The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)

The documents presented here represent a selection of primary sources available in several ProQuest databases. -- ProQuest

"Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) and assembled and microfilmed in 1941 as the seventeen-volume Slave Narratives: A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves. This online collection is a joint presentation of the Manuscript and Prints and Photographs Divisions of the Library of Congress and includes more than 200 photographs from the Prints and Photographs Division that are now made available to the public for the first time. Born in Slavery was made possible by a major gift from the Citigroup Foundation." -- Library of Congress

"The Chicago Defender (1909-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue." -- ProQuest

"HeinOnline’s Civil Rights database brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislations, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still. A curated list of scholarly articles, a varied collection of books on many civil rights topics, and a list of prominent civil rights organizations help take the research beyond HeinOnline." -- HeinOnline

"The Western Michigan University Libraries United States Civil War Collection was launched in 2007 with 8 diaries of men with connections to Michigan or the Midwest. In 2009 the Collection expanded to include a selection of letters by Samuel Hodgman from Climax, Michigan, who served with the 7th Michigan Infantry. . . . The current collection represents diverse military experiences, ranging from a musician to a prisoner of war. The handwritten originals have full transcriptions that are searchable with subjects." -- website

"In 1953, the Abraham Lincoln Association published The Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln, a multi-volume set of Lincoln's correspondence, speeches, and other writings. Roy P. Basler and his editorial staff, with the continued support of the association, spent five years transcribing and annotating Lincoln's papers. The Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln represented the first major scholarly effort to collect and publish the complete writings of Abraham Lincoln, and the edition has remained an invaluable resource to Lincoln scholars. Through the efforts of the Abraham Lincoln Association, the edition is now available in electronic form." -- website

Also known as the Constitution Annotated, this is the legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based primarily on Supreme Court cases.

"The Directory contains 58,017 dissertations that were completed or are currently in progress at 204 history departments in the United States and Canada." -- website

"From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection now contains more than 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Libraries possessing this collection find they are able to fulfill the most exhaustive research requirements of graduate scholars - from their desktop - in many subject areas, including English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science." -- EEBO website

"In cooperation with Amigos Library Services, the OSU Library has begun to make many historical resources available, especially this collection of magazines published in Oklahoma from around 1890-1910. With this on-going project we hope to make a wide variety of Early Oklahoma Serials available to researchers and interested citizens." -- OSU Library

"Consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, Eighteenth Century Collections Online was the most ambitious single scholarly digitization project ever undertaken." -- Gale

"This bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750." -- EBSCO

"Executive privilege is the right of the president of the United States to keep certain information confidential from subpoenas and other oversight measures by the legislative and judicial branches of government. Contrary to popular belief, executive privilege is not specifically mentioned in the U.S. Constitution. Instead, it is an implied power based on the separation of powers that the Constitution outlines. . . . This . . . database includes hundreds of congressional hearings, reports, memoranda, and related scholarly articles, as well as other documents from all three government branches. . . . [The] extensive metadata indexing gives users unique browse options and a custom search index including primary and secondary material related to executive privilege." -- HeinOnline

"The National Archives, through its National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC), has entered into a cooperative agreement with The University of Virginia Press to create this site and make freely available online the historical documents of the Founders of the United States of America. -- National Archives

"The Gateway is an online repository of Oklahoma history, brought to you by the Oklahoma Historical Society. You may browse through hundreds of thousands of newspaper pages dating from the 1840s to the 1920s. The Gateway will be the largest repository of Oklahoma newspapers online. Although the Gateway currently offers only newspapers, it will expand to contain materials of all types. Please return often to see the newest additions to the Gateway." -- Oklahoma Historical Society

"In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. The Gerritsen Collection has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world." -- ProQuest

"The Handbook of Texas Online is a project of the Texas State Historical Association. The online Handbook offers a full-text searchable version of the complete text of the six-volume print edition, all corrections incorporated in the second printing, and approximately 400 articles not included in the print edition due to space limitations. Subsequent developments will include additional corrections and updates, new articles, illustrations, and audio-video media. The Handbook of Texas Online was officially released on February 15th, 1999." -- website

"Since 2005, the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library at the University of Illinois has been developing unique digital newspaper content. The works collected here include digital facsimilies of newspapers and trade journals in a variety of fields. Users may search, browse, tag, and correct OCR text to improve searchability and access." -- University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

"Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century." -- website

"Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties, compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII). The work was first published in 1903-04 by the U.S. Government Printing Office. Enhanced by the editors' use of margin notations and a comprehensive index, the information contained in Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties is in high demand by Native peoples, researchers, journalists, attorneys, legislators, teachers and others of both Native and non-Native origins." -- Oklahoma State University Library

"In cooperation with the University of Tulsa Law Library and the National Indian Law Library, the Electronic Publishing Center digitized all 43 volumes of this collection." -- OSU Library Website

"The wide range of material included in Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America presents a unique insight into interactions between Indigenous Peoples in North America and European colonists from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on histories of Indigenous Peoples in North America in the world." -- Website

"From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities." -- website

Indigenous Peoples of North America "provides users with a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of indigenous peoples in the United States and Canada. Researchers will explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more." -- Gale

"This database contains the National Archives and Records Administration's complete collection of records on President John F. Kennedy's assassination in HeinOnline's fully searchable, user-friendly format. Also included are books, hearings, other related works, and scholarly articles on this topic. " -- HeinOnline

"Explore a wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of security studies. This content looks at security studies through a broad lens, encompassing research on international security and peace and conflict studies from all corners of the globe." -- JSTOR

The Kendallabrum was The University of Tulsa's yearbook from 1913 through 1994. Published annually for this eighty year period except for only a few years, the Kendallabrum provides a window into the history of TU. The yearbooks have been scanned and digitally converted to PDF format for ease of viewing.

"HeinOnline has developed the Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School) in conjunction with the William Winthrop Memorial Library of the U.S. Army Judge Advocate General’s School to replace the Winthrop Library’s Military Legal Resources collection previously hosted by the Library of Congress. The goal of the collection is exhaustiveness. It aims to collect every current and historical military legal document and resource needed by judge advocates, law school professors, and members of the general public interested in military law. New materials will be added to the collection on a regular basis." -- HeinOnline

"The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history." -- website

"The Oklahoma Digital Newspaper Program is operated by the Oklahoma Historical Society which has a goal of digitizing and making freely available as many Oklahoma related newspaper titles as possible." -- Oklahoma Historical Society

"Oklahoma Digital Prairie provides visitors unique digital content spanning more than 100 years of rich, vibrant history from the 46th State. The resource areas found here include documents, photographs, newspapers, reports, pamphlets, posters, maps and audio/visual content. Content ranges from the late 1800s to the present day." -- ODL Digital Prairie website

"The Oklahoma Historical Society presents a collection of photographs featuring individual portraits, street scenes, and pictures of landmarks and buildings taken between 1890 and 1920." -- Oklahoma Historical Society

"The Oklahoma Publishing Company Photography Collection features over 70,000 photographs spanning a period of over 100 years. The company is the parent company of the Oklahoman newspaper (formerly the Daily Oklahoman) as well as the Oklahoma Times and the Oklahoma Farmer-Stockman. The collection features a wide variety of photographs taken for stories in the newspapers." -- Oklahoma Historical Society

Series of books on the history of Oklahoma State University.

"Papers Past contains digitised pages from New Zealand newspapers and periodicals published between 1839 and 1945. It covers over 70 titles from throughout New Zealand. The newspapers in Papers Past are a good source of information about the social and political events of the times. Researchers of family history and whakapapa (genealogy) will find the shipping news, births, deaths and marriages of interest. Advertising also features strongly. A range of regional newspapers are available on the site, making it a valuable source of information on life outside the main centres." -- National Library of New Zealand

"The Portal is a gateway to Texas history materials. You may discover anything from an ancestor's picture to a rare historical map. From prehistory to the present day, you can explore unique collections from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. The Portal continues to grow as additional partners contribute digital versions of their collections. We hope you'll return often to discover our latest additions." -- UNT

Indian Claims Insight contains overviews of the claims process from 1789 to present, docket histories, and "includes all the related dockets and publications for a nation/tribe. It provides comprehensive insight into the entire history of treaties, claims, testimony and decisions related to a federally recognized Indian nation." -- MLIC

"This work is the most current and comprehensive listing of publications created by presidential advisory bodies, and will be useful to researchers interested in U.S. history, political science, and law. Presidents have created such advisory groups (also called committees, commissions, boards, blue ribbon panels, or task forces) to advise them on particular problems or issues such Pearl Harbor, civil rights, the status of women, the assassination of JFK, the 1967 riots, Iran Contra, HIV/AIDS, the Challenger Space Shuttle accident, and 9/11.

"The bibliographic listings of more than 6,000 reports and other documents from the administrations of Andrew Jackson to Barack Obama are indexed by commission/advisory body name, report title, report subject and presidential administration. Links to the full text of the reports are provided whenever possible. The companion database contains not only the bibliographic listing of reports but also many reports themselves as well as related United States congressional hearings, scholarly articles, and a bibliography." -- HeinOnline

"This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery." -- HeinOnline

"State Statutes: A Historical Archive includes superseded state statutes for all fifty states. Search the statutes by state, date, description and text. Coverage goes back until 1717." -- MLIC

Reveal Digital’s Student Activism collection is intended to serve as a scholarly bridge from the extensive history of student protest in the United States to the study of today’s vibrant, continually unfolding actions. Angus Johnston, writing in The Chronicle of Higher Education, states, “The activists of the ’60s and ’70s, confronting universities that were hostile to their values and ideals, launched a movement that remade American higher education in their own image — not completely, and perhaps not permanently, but in significant, lasting ways. Today’s activists may yet articulate — and enact — a similarly far-reaching agenda.”

The completed collection will contain approximately 75,000 pages drawn from special collection libraries and archives around the country. Materials intended for inclusion are wide-ranging in nature: Circulars, leaflets, fliers, pamphlets, newsletters, campaign materials, protest literature, clippings, periodicals, bulletins, letters, press releases, ephemera; and meeting, demonstration, conference, and event documentation. -- JSTOR

"The renowned Translated Texts for Historians E-Library makes available historical sources from A.D. 300–800 translated into English, in many cases for the first time. This indispensable collection contains 68 volumes from the series that bring together a wealth of important early medieval texts in translation, with scholarship from leading academics." -- Website

"The long-term objective of the Australian Newspaper Digitisation Program (ANDP) is to make freely available online through Trove, as many Australian newspapers published as possible. The newspapers are digitised in a standard format which supports long-term access and full-text searching of articles.

Trove provides access to over 18.5 million pages from over 1000 Australian newspapers. Newly digitised articles are added daily. Digitised newspapers and more on Trove includes newspapers from each state and territory and from the earliest published newspaper in 1803, to the mid-20th century, including some community language newspapers. " -- National Library of Australia

"Delve into over 260 collections of images, texts, and more from libraries and museums across campus and the region." -- U. of Michigan

"Until the creation of this online version, a comprehensive, professionally edited and annotated collection of “The Writings of Will Rogers” was only available in the twenty-one-volume set published by Oklahoma State University Press from 1973–1983. Many of those books have been long out of print, and the others are not easily obtainable. Even when available as a set, searching the several separate volumes for particular quotes or phrases or concepts has been problematic, if not impossible. Now you and other users worldwide can readily and freely access the four volumes of Rogers’ Daily Telegrams and the early years of his Weekly Articles. When complete, the latter body of syndicated newspaper columns, which he began in 1922, will embrace six volumes. Eventually all twenty-one volumes of “The Writings of Will Rogers” will be available online. You will be able to search easily and quickly by phrases and keywords the full range of his previously published work, plus his weekly radio broadcasts for which sound recordings are available." -- Will Rogers Memorial Museum & Birthplace Ranch website