|
|
This Library Research Guide will provide information about and access to some of the most significant research materials available from McFarlin Library related to Geosciences. The tabs above cover research options such as:
|
Selecting a research topic is much like deciding on a travel destination. Once you have narrowed your ideas to an interesting subject, write down a brief statement about this topic. For example: "Rock groups of the 60s, their popularity and major influence on the music industry." Once the topic is selected, write down specific questions that you'll want to answer. The research process will drive your destination. Your original topic may develop into something entirely different. You may choose to follow an alternate path and go down a different road.
After determining the topic, you can map out your route. You must identify the types of sources that will provide the information needed, then determine where to find these sources. Types of sources that should be considered include books, periodicals, the Internet, and other libraries (through interlibrary loan).
The key to finding books is the online library catalog called Discovery. Search in Discovery by selecting a keyword that best describes your topic. You can also search by title, author, subject, or keyword. In addition to books, the catalog allows you to search for periodicals, government documents, audiovisual material, and Special Collections.
If you get lost during your sight-seeing trip, stop and ask directions. The following reference sources will be most useful to acquire quick answers to any questions you may have.
Begin with Encyclopedias, then to get off the main drag, use Subject Encyclopedias.
What does it mean? Use a Dictionary.
How much, how many? Find Statistical Information.
Who? Find Biographical Information.
How can I get in touch? Use a Directory.
Where do I go from here? Bibliographies.
Periodicals include newspapers, magazines, and journals. They are published regularly, daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly. Journals are periodicals containing articles written by experts in a particular field of study. If the researcher wrote the article, is it a primary source. If reporters write the article, such as in popular magazines, it is a secondary source. Typically, journal articles contain extensive bibliographies that lead to additional sources.
Journal List - If there is a specific journal that you are looking for, this will take you directly to McFarlin's holdings.
Discovery - If there is a specific article that you are looking for, you can search Summon with that article's title.
Database List - If you don't have a specific journal or article in mind, then McFarlin's databases will allow you to search multiple journals with a keyword.
Technical Reports
A geology technical report is a comprehensive document that presents detailed information, analysis, and findings related to a geological study or project. It serves as a formal means of communicating geological data, interpretations, and recommendations to various stakeholders, such as clients, regulatory agencies, or the scientific community. The key elements of a geology technical report typically include:
Title Page
Includes the report title, author(s), date, and relevant affiliations or organizations.
Abstract
A concise summary of the report's purpose, methods, and key findings.
Introduction
Provides background information, outlines the objectives and scope of the study, and sets the context for the report.
Geological Setting
Describes the regional and local geology, including stratigraphy, structure, and relevant geological history of the study area.
Methodology
Explains the data collection and analysis methods used, such as field mapping, sampling techniques, laboratory testing, and modeling approaches.
Results
Presents the data and findings obtained from the study, using clear figures, tables, maps, cross-sections, and descriptions. Interprets the results in the context of the study objectives.
Discussion
Presents the data and findings obtained from the study, using clear figures, tables, maps, cross-sections, and descriptions. Interprets the results in the context of the study objectives.
Conclusions
Summarizes the key findings and their significance, and may include recommendations for further work or actions.
References
In the Geosciences, as in other fields of study, it is very important that you cite the sources that you use to form and articulate your ideas. In Geoscience writing, the Geological Society of America (GSA) citation style is most commonly used.
For an excellent and free citation management software option, check out our page on Zotero.
