Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Department of Special Collections and University Archives

Department of Special Collections and University Archives

Archival Catalog issues

Digital objects may vanish from the archival catalog during the next few weeks.  We are upgrading from Http: to Https:, which should lear up the recent browser issues.  Thank you for your patience.

Information related to COVID-19

Due to COVID-19, In accordance with The University’s ‘Social Distancing’ policy and social distancing recommendations from the Center for Disease Control (CDC), The Department of Special Collections and University Archives will be closed to the public and visiting scholars until further notice. We are open to TU affiliates by appointment only, with at least 1 day notice, and then only one person at a time.

The COVID response team has indicated that researchers can begin traveling to TU under the following conditions:

  • They have been fully vaccinated before arriving (meaning they are at least 14 days removed from their last vaccine shot or only shot if Johnson and Johnson)
  • They are arriving from a U. S. destination and not coming directly from another country
  • They will abide by our continued COVID expectations including mask-wearing and social distancing
  • The sponsoring group on campus such as Special Collections informs the administration of the visit at least 30 days in advance

We will continue to supply distance Reference and Copies as well as we can, although there may be delays in copies. No RUSH requests will be accepted. If there is any way we can assist faculty with online access, please contact us and we will try to fulfill those needs.

We can be reached at (918) 631-2496 (Voicemail only), and by email at speccoll@utulsa.edu.

The latest University guidance for students, faculty and staff is available on the University’s Coronavirus Updates webpage and McFarlin Library’s COVID-19 Library Updates & Resources webpage.

Jack and Tybie Satin Rare Book RoomThe Department of Special Collections and University Archives at McFarlin Library hosts world-class collections of rare books, manuscripts, photographs, artwork, and other objects, including one of the five largest collections in the world on the celebrated Irish writer James Joyce and the life archive of Nobel Laureate Sir V.S. Naipaul. Other significant collections include a wide variety of British, Irish, and American modernist literature, a large and varied collection of materials on World War I, Native American history and culture, and Tulsa Race Relations. The Department of Special Collections and University Archives also offers an important array of research materials for scholars worldwide as well as TU faculty and students.

Featured Collection

Amelia Earhart
[Tulsa Municipal Airport] Ledger books, 1928-07-03 - 1934-05-17 Coll. No. 2006.012.airportstmaledgerbooks

Airport records in 3 ledger books containing pilot signatures (including entries for Charles A. Lindbergh, Wiley Post, James Harold Doolittle, and Amelia Earhart), origination and destination information, arrival and departure times, type of aircraft and engine, number of crew and passengers, owner of aircraft, and pilot and plane licenses.  Includes Signatures of Charles Lindberg, Amelia Earhart, Wiley Post and Jimmy Doolittle

From McFarlin Tower Blog

Loading ...

Other Social Media