Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Databases for locating articles in Mathematics
MathSciNet on EBSCOhost
"MathSciNet® is an electronic publication of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification. Continuing in the tradition of the paper publication, Mathematical Reviews (MR), which was first published in 1940, expert reviewers are selected by a staff of professional mathematicians to write reviews of the current published literature; over 40,000 reviews are added to the database each year." -- EBSCO
arXiv.org provides "open access to 1,224,705 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library with guidance from the arXiv Scientific Advisory Board and the arXiv Member Advisory Board, and with the help of numerous subject moderators." -- arXiv.org website
"Scopus covers more than 15,000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, medicine and social sciences from over 4,000 international publishers." Scopus includes "coverage of: Open Access journals, Conference Proceedings, Trade Publications and Book Series." -- Elsevier
Numdam, the French digital mathematics library
"You can find on this website the full text of mathematical research documents: journal articles, seminar and conference proceedings, books and monographs, doctoral theses. While a large part of the content has been digitised starting first known issue from paper volumes, the library acquires newer content provided by their publishers in order to keep the archive alive and resonably current. Full texts are freely downloadable after a variable moving wall." -- Numdam website
SIAM Journals Online
"The Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) is an international community of close to 12,000 individual members. Almost 500 academic, manufacturing, research and development, service and consulting organizations, government, and military organizations worldwide are institutional members. SIAM fosters the development of applied mathematical and computational methodologies needed in these various application areas. Applied mathematics in partnership with computational science is essential in solving many real-world problems. Through publications, research, and community, the mission of SIAM is to build cooperation between mathematics and the worlds of science and technology." -- SIAM website
Search MathSciNet via EBSCOhost
Academic Search Complete Quick Search
Articles Quick Search
Search select library databases using Encore for published articles from academic journals, popular magazines and newspapers.
Looking for a Journal?
Search here to see if McFarlin subscribes to a journal you need: