Mechanical Engineering: A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources: Technical Reports, etc.
This Library Research Guide will provide information about and access to some of the most significant research materials available in McFarlin Library related to the discipline of Mechanical Engineering.
The National Technical Information Library is a federally funded bibliographic science and technology research information database. To search the database and to download full text pdf's you will need to create a FREE account, which limits you to 10 downloads per search session. Currently there are more than 850,000 documents digitized for free public access.
"Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results." -- Science.gov website
"The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports." -- TRAIL website
" The mission of TRAIL is to ensure preservation, discoverability, and persistent open access to government technical publications regardless of form or format. TRAIL provides unrestricted access to these digitized technical reports through the TRAIL Search Interface (link is external). Millions of pages of elusive technical reports are now discoverable, thanks to the collaborative effort of TRAIL members." -- TRAIL website
"Founded in 1880 as the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, ASME is the premier professional membership organization for more than 127,000 mechanical engineers and associated members worldwide. ASME also conducts one of the world's largest technical publishing operations in the world, offering thousands of titles including some of the profession's most prestigious journals, conference proceedings, and ASME Press books. The ASME Digital Library, is ASME's primary repository of current and archival literature featuring . . . " -- ASME Digital Library website
The ASME Digital Collection provides access to ASME's Transaction Journals from 2000 to the present and ASME's Conference Proceedings from 1959 to the present.
PapersFirst is an index to scholarly papers presented at conferences, symposia, workshops, and other professional meetings from October 1993 to the present. It covers only those papers received by the British Library Document Supply Center. (NOTE: Search ProceedingsFirst to locate information on the meetings at which these papers were presented.)
ProceedingsFirst is an index to the publications of professional meetings, such as conferences, workshops, and symposia, held since October of 1993. It covers only publications received by the British Library Document Supply Center. (NOTE: Search PapersFirst to locate information on the individual papers presented at these meetings.)
"The Patent Public Search tool is a new web-based patent search application that will replace internal legacy search tools PubEast and PubWest and external legacy search tools PatFT and AppFT. Patent Public Search has two user selectable modern interfaces that provide enhanced access to prior art. The new, powerful, and flexible capabilities of the application will improve the overall patent searching process." -- USPTO
"Google Patent Search covers the entire collection of issued patents and millions of patent application made available by the USPTO—from patents issued in the 1790s through those most recently issued in the past few months. We don't currently include international patents, but we look forward to expanding our coverage in the future." -- Google
"This database lets you access 91 years of [Canadian] patent descriptions and images. You can search, retrieve and study more than 2,080,000 patent documents. The text of the abstracts and claims is not available for patents that were granted prior to August 15, 1978. These patents can only be searched by their patent number, titles, owner or inventor names, or classification." -- from website
"Espacenet offers free access to more than 90 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today. It has a user-friendly interface available in almost all European languages. It enables users with little or no experience in patent searching to obtain an overview of the state of the art, to follow new developments or to find out who invented what." - European Patent Office
