LibGuides: Economics Quick Guide: Economics

Top Choices for Economics Research

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window "Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc." -- EBSCO
AgEcon This link opens in a new window "AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics is a World Wide Web site developed and maintained at the University of Minnesota by Magrath Library and the Department of Applied Economics. The site has received encouragement and financial support from the American Agricultural Economics Association, the Economic Research Service of the United States Department of Agriculture, and the Farm Foundation as well as the University of Minnesota." -- AgEcon Website
"AgEcon Search collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development. AgEcon Search will serve as the permanent archive for this literature and encourages authors and organizations to use this electronic library as the storehouse for additional appropriate scholarly electronic works." -- AgEcon website
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window "Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,300 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics." Additional full text content includes: Industry reportsMarket research reportsCountry reportsCompany profilesSWOT analyses
EconPapers This link opens in a new window "EconPapers provides access to RePEc, the world's largest collection of on-line Economics working papers, journal articles and software. ... The majority of the full text files are freely available, but some (typically journal articles) require that you or your organization subscribe to the service providing the full text file. -- EconPapers website
"RePEc is a distributed data set residing in over 400 archives operated by research organizations, academic departments and publishers. EconPapers would not be possible without the effort of the maintainers of these archives." -- EconPapers website

Definitions

Oxford Reference Library This link opens in a new window "The Oxford Reference Library is made up of over 180 more specialized works including award-winning Oxford Companions and multi-volume Oxford Encyclopedias. These titles are fully cross-searchable with those in the Oxford Quick Reference collection, and provide longer, in-depth, academic content as well as essays and specialist definitions. Oxford Reference Library also brings a selection of scholarly titles from other prestigious publishers, such as Brewers and Continuum. " -- Oxford University Press
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online This link opens in a new window "R. H. Inglis Palgrave's original Dictionary of Political Economy (1894–9), was a landmark in both publishing and economics, a liberal and scholarly overview of the whole sphere of economic thought in its day. Henry Higgs's revised edition, Palgrave's Dictionary of Political Economy (1923–6), retained the spirit of the original while embracing new concepts in the development of economics as a discipline. The four-volume The New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics, edited by John Eatwell, Murray Milgate and Peter Newman, was published in 1987 to international acclaim. -- Website
"In 2008, Palgrave Macmillan published The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, 2nd edition, edited by Steven N. Durlauf and Lawrence E. Blume. While some classic articles from the 1987 were retained, around 80% of the text was either entirely new or substantially rewritten to reflect the depth of change within the discipline between the editions. This new edition retains the inspiring tradition of bringing together the world's most influential economists writing in their own voice on their areas of expertise, but in its online incarnation it has married this tradition with the benefits of a dynamic, updated resource serving the information needs of a new generation of economists." -- Website

TU Libraries Quick Search

Search the library for books, ebooks, journal articles, DVDs, and other materials you need.

Economics Quick Guide: Economics

Top Choices for Economics Research

Definitions

TU Libraries Quick Search

Looking for a specific Journal?

Search for Dissertations and Theses

Google Scholar

Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources