LibGuides: Art: A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources: Multimedia Materials & Museums

ARTstor

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is now on the JSTOR platform!
"With more than 2 million images* (and growing), scholars can easily examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and modern architectural plans from Columbia University. Composed of approximately 300 curated sub-collections, Artstor supports and enriches study across disciplines, including world events from Magnum Photos, anthropology from Harvard’s Peabody Museum, and archaeology from Erich Lessing Culture and Fine Art Archives and, making it a resource for your whole institution." -- ARTstor

NYPL Picture Collection Online
"The Picture Collection Online (PCO) is a select group of images from The New York Public Library, Mid-Manhattan Library, Picture Collection. Since its creation in 1915, the Picture Collection has met the needs of New York's large community of artists, illustrators, designers, teachers, students, and general researchers. Covering over 12,000 subjects, the Picture Collection is an extensive circulating collection and reference archive, the largest of its kind in any public library system." -- New York Public Library
CalPhotos
"CalPhotos is a collection of 463,702 photos of plants, animals, fossils, people, and landscapes from around the world. A variety of organizations and individuals have contributed photographs to CalPhotos." -- website
Digital South Asia Library - Images
"The Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users." -- website
Google Arts & Culture Collection
The Google Arts & Culture team has worked with hundreds of museums and galleries across the world to digitize some of their art collections — from Istanbul to New Delhi to Bogotá to Indianapolis, Indiana. More well-known museums, like the Guggenheim in New York and the Musée d’Orsay in Paris, also make appearances.

The Internet provides a great amount of information in the area of art:

Art History Resources on the Web
Maintained by Chris Witcombe, Professor, Art History, Sweet Briar College.

Gilcrease Museum
"Gilcrease Museum is one of the country's best facilities for the preservation and study of American art and history. The museum's charm, beauty and art collections draw thousands of visitors from around the world to the Osage hills for a glimpse into the past. Gilcrease Museum houses the world's largest, most comprehensive collection of art and artifacts of the American West. The museum also offers an unparalleled collection of Native American art and artifacts, as well as historical manuscripts, documents and maps." -- website
Philbrook Museum of Art
"Listed in the top 50, one of only five museums in the United States with a unique combination of historical home, art collections and gardens."

Art Museum Network
"Since 1996 the Art Museum Network has offered a platform for opinion about and collaboration among leading art museums. Edited by Maxwell L. Anderson, it seeks to provide new ideas about familiar challenges. " -- website