LibGuides: Music: A Guide to McFarlin Library Resources: Books/E-Books

Definitions and Background Reading

Print copies of music dictionaries & encyclopedias are on the Main Level.

Call numbers for these begin with: ML100 - ML109.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window "Oxford Music Online is the new gateway offering users the ability, for the first time ever, to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. The cornerstone of Oxford Music Online, Grove Music Online, has been completely redesigned with a number of functional enhancements and new content." -- Oxford University Press
"Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres; The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Second Edition, Revised (2006) will similarly supplement Grove's more extensive coverage with content geared toward undergraduates and general users." -- Oxford University Press
Oxford Reference Library This link opens in a new window "The Oxford Reference Library is made up of over 180 more specialized works including award-winning Oxford Companions and multi-volume Oxford Encyclopedias. These titles are fully cross-searchable with those in the Oxford Quick Reference collection, and provide longer, in-depth, academic content as well as essays and specialist definitions. Oxford Reference Library also brings a selection of scholarly titles from other prestigious publishers, such as Brewers and Continuum. " -- Oxford University Press
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window "[Ebook Central's] Academic Complete is ProQuest’s award-winning subscription database trusted by libraries around the world. For more than a decade, students have relied on Academic Completes unlimited access, multidisciplinary coverage, and powerful research tools." -- ProQuest

E-books are also available through Discovery.

Theses & Dissertations

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology-Online This link opens in a new window "DDM-Online is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. Containing more than 14,000 records, including the corrected and updated contents of the earlier printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology (still available for sale) and supplements contributed from musicological centers throughout the world, DDM-Online is browsable, just as was possible in the earlier printed editions, but it is also fully searchable by author and or by as many as three simultaneous keywords in any part of the record. The pages of DDM-Online are updated periodically throughout the academic year. Since its opening to the public in September 1996, DDM-Online has responded to more than 14,000,000 searches of its data." -- website
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window "ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content." -- ProQuest

To find print copies of dissertations & theses:

Search Discovery.
Filter by 'Thesis, Dissertation' under content type.
Limit to 'Library Catalog' for print copies.

TU Libraries Quick Search

Search the library for books, ebooks, journal articles, DVDs, and other materials you need.

Advanced Search | Search the Mabee Legal Information Center (MLIC)

McFarlin Library's Ebooks

The library pays for access to other collections, such as ProQuest's Ebook Central.

ProQuest's Ebook Central has over 200,000 academic ebooks from a variety of publishers on a wide range of topics and disciplines. You may read the ebooks in your browser or check them out and download them for offline reading on your laptop, tablet or phone (iOS or Android).

HINT: To search for an exact title, enclose the title in quotation marks: for example, "Diplomat in Carpet Slippers"

If you need assistance in using the ProQuest ebooks, please consult ProQuest's Ebook Central LibGuide which provides detailed instructions, including tutorials on using the online reader, and how to download ebooks. You may also contact the Department of Instruction and Research. The librarians will be happy to help!

Print Books

McFarlin uses the Library of Congress classification system.

Books about music have call numbers that begin with the letter(s):

M: Music
ML: Literature on music (includes books about composers and their works)
MT: Musical instruction and study

The books are located on the Main Level.

See the Scores page for print scores.

Look for More Books

Can't find what you need at McFarlin? Use these resources to locate books that may be available online or from other libraries. If you find a book you want:

Check the library catalog to be sure McFarlin doesn't have it
Then go to the Interlibrary Loan Department and request a copy

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat (of which TU's Discovery is a part) contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries, making it the largest database of library holdings in the world. More than 290,000,000 bibliographic records, representing more than 2,000,000,000 holdings from over 72,000 libraries in 170 countries with materials in over 470 languages, make up the database. It includes not only books, but also software, manuscripts, films, slides, music scores, newspapers, journals, videorecordings, magazines, and more.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
"ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content." -- ProQuest

Tulsa City-County Library
Tulsa City-County Library System is the primary information and resource center for the Tulsa, Oklahoma, metropolitan area. More than 1.7 million volumes and numerous library services are available to the public. Services range from Internet access and on-line databases, to adult literacy tutoring and children's reading programs. The Central Library, four regional libraries, and 19 branch libraries in Tulsa County serve over 308,000 library cardholders who check out more than 3.7 million books and materials each year.