IMPORTANT NOTICE: Systematic downloading of the licensed and copyrighted content of McFarlin Library's electronic resources, such as the use of scripted searches, download accelerators or web robots (i.e., "bots") of any kind, is STRICTLY PROHIBITED. You should download only the content you require for your immediate research needs or course assignment. For more information, please see McFarlin Library's Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources.
Google Scholar
Articles and Journals and Databases
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new window"Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc." -- EBSCO
America: History & Life with Full TextThis link opens in a new window"America: History and Life™ with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history." -- EBSCO
"America: History and Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals and over 90 books. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages." -- EBSCO
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the InsideThis link opens in a new window"On March 24, 1800, Forlorn Hope became the first newspaper published within a prison by an incarcerated person. In the intervening 200 years, over 450 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons. Some, like the Angolite and the San Quentin News, are still being published today. American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions." -- JSTOR
Gerritsen CollectionThis link opens in a new window"In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. The Gerritsen Collection has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world." -- ProQuest
Historical Abstracts with Full TextThis link opens in a new window"Historical Abstracts™ with Full Text is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more." -- EBSCO
"Historical Abstracts™ with Full Text is essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. In addition, this database provides access to the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years. No other history research tool matches its scholarly standards or comprehensive coverage." -- EBSCO
JSTOR Arts and Sciences CollectionsThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. This database is valuable because "the complete backfiles of these core scholarly journals have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. Over 4 million pages are now available. New titles and fields are being added constantly. Issues of journals are never "out"; they are always accessible, and in pristine condition." Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
IMPORTANT! ARTstor is in the process of moving to the JSTOR platform. You may now search JSTOR for both journal articles and high-quality ARTstor images. The current ARTstor site will continure to be available until at least the summer of 2023. Learn more.
Nexis UniThis link opens in a new window"Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; unparalleled business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives." -- LexisNexis
ProQuest Ebook CentralThis link opens in a new window"[Ebook Central's] Academic Complete is ProQuest’s award-winning subscription database trusted by libraries around the world. For more than a decade, students have relied on Academic Completes unlimited access, multidisciplinary coverage, and powerful research tools." -- ProQuest
SocINDEX with Full TextThis link opens in a new window"SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,200 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895." -- EBSCO
"In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 510 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,920 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included. Searchable cited references are also provided. SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. In addition, SocINDEX with Full Text features over 25,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database. Each author profile includes biographical data and bibliographic information, which together allow users to quickly ascertain an author's areas of expertise and academic/professional focus. All author profiles are updated on a routine basis as new information about each author becomes available. Moreover, profiles continue to be added for additional authors within the database on an ongoing basis. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers." -- EBSCO
Women and the LawThis link opens in a new window"Women and the Law (Peggy) is a collection that brings together books, biographies and periodicals dedicated to women's roles in society and the law. This unique collection of materials provides a platform to research the progression of women's roles and rights in society over the past 200 years. Also included are more than 70 titles from Emory University Law School's Feminism and Legal Theory Project which provide a platform to view the effect of law and culture on the female gender." -- HeinOnline
WorldCatThis link opens in a new windowWorldCat contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries, making it the largest database of library holdings in the world. More than 290,000,000 bibliographic records, representing more than 2,000,000,000 holdings from over 72,000 libraries in 170 countries with materials in over 470 languages, make up the database. It includes not only books, but also software, manuscripts, films, slides, music scores, newspapers, journals, videorecordings, magazines, and more.
Have a citation and need to read the article? Find out if McFarlin subscribes to your journal: Journal List. If no results are listed, go to the Interlibrary Loan box below.
Interlibrary Loan
Do you need an item McFarlin doesn't own? We can get it for you free of charge. Just sign up for Interlibrary Loan and make a request.
