Energy related articles

See the Engineering and Sciences Research Guide below:

Engineering and Science Research Guide

Energy & Power Source This link opens in a new window "Energy & Power Source offers cover-to-cover indexing for nearly 950 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines and trade publications, all directly dealing with energy industry-related issues. Hundreds of key energy-focused industry and market reports are also included. This database also features tens of thousands of additional energy industry articles, benchmarks and best practices, selected from thousands of trade and industry publications." -- EBSCO
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window "Environment Complete™ offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more." -- EBSCO
"Environment Complete contains more than 2,183,500 records from more than 1,900 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including over 1,100 active core titles) as well as more than 130 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 750 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for more than 130 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc." -- EBSCO
OnePetro This link opens in a new window Launched in March 2007, OnePetro currently contains more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently. All papers from SPE's eLibrary are included in OnePetro. This includes meeting and journal papers extending back to 1927. SPE also includes some presentations from Distinguished Lecturers and panel/plenary sessions at their meetings. SPE currently has more than 50,000 documents available in OnePetro.
Petroleum Abstracts TULSA Database This link opens in a new window "The Petroleum Abstracts TULSA® Database is a comprehensive source of information on the oil and gas exploration and production industry with more than one million entries dating from 1965 to present. The database contains indexed bibliographic references and abstracts for scientific and technical articles from 300 journals and 200 conference proceedings worldwide, patent gazettes and full-text patents, government documents, dissertations, books, and other sources. The topics covered include: Geology; Geochemistry; Geophysics; Drilling; Well Logging; Well Completion and Servicing; Production of Oil and Gas; Reservoir Engineering and Recovery Methods; Pipelining, Shipping and Storage; Alternate Fuels and Energy Sources; Business and Economics; Health, Safety and Environment; and Science and Engineering. More than 35,000 entries are added to the database each year." -- EBSCO

Industry Information related to Energy

Select Industry search in Business Source Complete. Possible searches include:

Petroleum Refining
Crude Petroleum and Natural Gas
Pipelines except Natural Gas

Peer Reviewed/Scholarly Articles in Databases

Finding Articles

Journal articles are important in your research. You should use periodical indexes to identify current journal articles published in the professional and scholarly literature on topics relevant to your research project. These databases can be subject-specific for in-depth research or can be more general in nature.

To find articles related to energy and/or business, search the following databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
"Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc." -- EBSCO
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
"Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,300 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics." Additional full text content includes:
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
"Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning, and acquire the research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers, ProQuest One Business is a complete business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more." -- ProQuest
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
"Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; unparalleled business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives." -- LexisNexis
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
"This state-of-the-art product provides Internet-based access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company database available, with the latest in features and functions. Rich textual descriptions - the hallmark of all Mergent publications - offer a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in 'as-reported' form and in native currencies, maintaining the full integrity of this critical information." -- Mergent

** Frequently, information on privately held companies can be obtained by contacting the company directly.

Discovery Quick Search for Books

Search the library for the books and ebooks and other research materials you need.

Advanced Search | Search the Mabee Legal Information Center (MLIC)

ProQuest Ebook Central

ProQuest's Ebook Central has over 200,000 academic ebooks from a variety of publishers on a wide range of topics and disciplines. You may read the ebooks in your browser or check them out and download them for offline reading on your laptop, tablet or phone (iOS or Android).

HINT: To search for an exact title, enclose the title in quotation marks: for example, "Diplomat in Carpet Slippers"

If you need assistance in using the ProQuest ebooks, please consult ProQuest's Ebook Central LibGuide which provides detailed instructions, including tutorials on using the online reader, and how to download ebooks. You may also contact the Department of Instruction and Research. The librarians will be happy to help!

Master of Energy Business: Home

Welcome to McFarlin's Master of Energy Business Research Guide