Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Transcultural Nursing Society
Professional nursing association founded by Madeleine Leininger.
"'CulturedMed' at the Peter J.Cayan Library at SUNYIT is a web site and a resource center of print materials promoting culturally-competent health care for refugees and immigrants."
Multicultural Aging Resource Guide
Collection of resources compiled by the American Psychological Association to serve as a "tool for maintaining one's awareness of multicultural health issues in the aging population, and the readings can inspire the integration of multicultural knowledge in day-to-day work with older adults. By becoming familiar with and utilizing the educational resources described in this guide, providers can stay abreast of the evolving field of gerodiversity."
"Promoting language and cultural competence to improve the quality of health care for minority, immigrant, and ethnically diverse communities."
"The EthnoMed site contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other related issues pertinent to the health care of recent immigrants to Seattle or the US, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world."
Search Google Scholar
McFarlin Library participates in the Google Scholar "Library Links" feature. When searching Google Scholar on the TU campus you will see links that say "Get from McFarlin Library", if the item is an article, and "Get in Print at McFarlin", if the item is a book. Clicking on those links will take you to a McFarlin Library screen that will provide information on how to get a copy of the item from the library.
Information on how to set this up off-campus, as well as more about Google Scholar in general, is available in the box to the right.
About Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a version of the Google search engine that searches the web for scholarly publications (primarily articles and books). The focus is on providing access to peer-reviewed journals that are available online from the publisher. (Google Scholar cannot access proprietary databases such as those in EBSCOhost.)
Google provides links to the articles it finds, usually on the publisher's website. You will be able to access the full text of the article if:
- the article is freely available (i.e. in the public domain or open access)
- McFarlin Library subscribes to the journal online and you are on the TU campus
You may not be able to access the full text through Scholar if:
- McFarlin Library does not subscribe to the journal online and it is not freely available
- McFarlin subscribes to the journal online and you are off-campus
- McFarlin has access to the journal online through a proprietary database (such as EBSCOhost, ProQuest, Gale, etc.)
McFarlin participates in Google Scholar's "Library Links" feature which should link you to the full text of an article (if the library subscribes or has access through another database) or to the availability of a book at the library.
This works automatically if you're on campus.
To use this feature off campus you'll need to set up your Scholar preferences.
- Search for the University of Tulsa to save it to your Google Scholar settings.
Here are some Google Scholar search tips.