NSG 1012: Communication/Health Disparities Project: Journal Articles

"This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names; and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Health Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc."

CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.

CHC offers a unique search interface designed to call attention to the full text content available from many important source-types, and to provide an intuitive means for searching this specific information.

Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. -- EBSCO

"PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information NCBI, at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)." -- NLM

"You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition." -- National Library of Medicine

In addition, ERIC collects and distributes a huge variety of print material (much of it unpublished) that relates to education. These "ERIC Documents" include research reports, program descriptions, surveys, curriculum guides and other instructional materials, conference papers, and much more. Many ERIC Documents issued since 1966 are available full text through the EBSCOhost version of ERIC. (Look for a Full Text from ERIC link.) These documents may also be available on the Lower Level of McFarlin Library in the ERIC Document microfiche collection. This database also contains the full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information.

"In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 510 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,920 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included. Searchable cited references are also provided. SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. In addition, SocINDEX with Full Text features over 25,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database. Each author profile includes biographical data and bibliographic information, which together allow users to quickly ascertain an author's areas of expertise and academic/professional focus. All author profiles are updated on a routine basis as new information about each author becomes available. Moreover, profiles continue to be added for additional authors within the database on an ongoing basis. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers." -- EBSCO