Petroleum Engineering: Home

Identify and Develop a Topic

Selecting a research topic is much like deciding on a travel destination. Once you have narrowed your ideas to an interesting subject, write down a brief statement about this topic. For example: "Rock groups of the 60s, their popularity and major influence on the music industry."  Once the topic is selected, write down specific questions that you'll want to answer. The research process will drive your destination. Your original topic may develop into something entirely different. You may choose to follow an alternate path and go down a different road.

Find Background Information

After determining the topic, you can map out your route. You must identify the types of sources that will provide the information needed, then determine where to find these sources. Types of sources that should be considered include books, periodicals, the Internet, and other libraries (through interlibrary loan).

The key to finding books is the online library catalog called Discovery.  Search in Discovery by selecting a keyword that best describes your topic. You can also search by title, author, subject, or keyword. In addition to books, the catalog allows you to search for periodicals, government documents, audiovisual material, and Special Collections.   

 If you get lost during your sight-seeing trip, stop and ask directions. The following reference sources will be most useful to acquire quick answers to any questions you may have.

•  Begin with Encyclopedias, then to get off the main drag, use Subject Encyclopedias.

•  What does it mean?  Use a Dictionary.       

•  How much, how many?  Find Statistical Information.

•  Who?  Find Biographical Information.

•  How can I get in touch?  Use a Directory.

•  Where do I go from here?  Bibliographies.

Find Journal Articles

Periodicals include newspapers, magazines, and journals. They are published regularly, daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly. Journals are periodicals containing articles written by experts in a particular field of study. If the researcher wrote the article, is it a primary source. If reporters write the article, such as in popular magazines, it is a secondary source. Typically, journal articles contain extensive bibliographies that lead to additional sources.

Journal List - If there is a specific journal that you are looking for, this will take you directly to McFarlin's holdings.

Discovery - If there is a specific article that you are looking for, you can search Summon with that article's title.

Database List - If you don't have a specific journal or article in mind, then McFarlin's databases will allow you to search multiple journals with a keyword.

Technical Reports

A technical report in petroleum engineering is a comprehensive document that describes the process, progress, or results of technical or scientific research, analysis, or operations related to oil and gas exploration, drilling, production, and reservoir management. They provide detailed information on specific oil and gas projects, including exploration prospects, drilling programs, field development plans, facility designs, and operational procedures. Key elements commonly found in petroleum engineering technical reports are as follows.

 

Executive Summary

Provides a concise overview of the report's purpose, key findings, and recommendations.

 

Introduction and Background

• Outlines the context, objectives, and scope of the technical study or project.
• Includes relevant background information, such as field or reservoir characteristics, geological data, and production history.

 

Methodology and Approach

• Describes the technical methods, analyses, and procedures employed in the study.

• May include details on data acquisition, modeling techniques, simulations, and calculations performed.

 

Data Analysis and Results

• Presents the data collected, processed, and analyzed during the study.
• Includes tables, graphs, charts, and other visual representations of the data and analysis results.

 

Discussion and Interpretation

• Provides an in-depth discussion and interpretation of the results and findings.

• Analyzes the implications and significance of the results in relation to the study objectives.

 

Conclusions and Recommendations

• Summarizes the key conclusions drawn from the study.
• Offers specific recommendations for future actions, such as exploration strategies, drilling programs, production optimization, or field development plans.

 

References and Supporting Materials

• Lists the sources cited in the report, such as technical papers, industry standards, and regulations.
• May include appendices with additional data, calculations, or supplementary information.