It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Educational Resources: Guide
What is OER?
With the rising cost of textbooks, students' ability to access their required learning materials can often be a barrier to fully participating in their courses and succeeding in their studies. At the same time, the rapid change in technology continues to impact how we engage with information. Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials that provide everyone with free and perpetual permission to access, use, and modify the resource.
This guide provides a list of resources and repositories for finding high-quality academic OER that instructors can use in their teaching.
5R Activities of OER
OER provides everyone with free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activities:
Retain – make, own, and control a copy of the resource
Reuse – use your copy of the resource publicly
Revise – edit, adapt, and modify your copy
Remix – combine the original or revised copy with other existing material to create something new
Redistribute – share copies of the original, revised, or remixed copy with others
The following list of resources includes collections of Open Textbooks. These textbooks are free to access and use, but be sure to check licensing permissions if you want to modify or make changes to any materials.
Free, open textbooks developed and peer-reviewed by educators. Instructors can request faculty access to adopt one of their books and receive faculty-only materials, like PowerPoint slides, solutions manuals, and a Blackboard course cartridge.
A collection of open textbooks created by institutions within the University System of Georgia. A part of Galileo Open Learning Materials.
Open Access Books
The following list of resources includes collections of Open Access academic books. These books are free to access and use, but be sure to check licensing permissions if you want to modify or make changes to any materials.
"The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact. Aggregators can integrate the records in their commercial services and libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and students to discover the books. The directory will be open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards." -- Website
"The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of Open Access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance and digital preservation." -- website
Open Access books published by the University of Michigan Press.
The following list of repositories includes a variety of OER, including books, assignments, lectures, and courses. The content is free to access and use, but be sure to check licensing permissions if you want to modify or make changes to any materials.